We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartland Quay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's the little things”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

People matter to the staff of this hotel and they go out of their way to look after you. Fantastic views, unfussy food and perfectly adequate hotel facilities make this the perfect place for a switch off. Don't tell everyone!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Abuwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    135
    51
    27
    7
See reviews for
60
164
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, decent grub, nice scenery, friendly & helpful staff. You really must try this place for yourself - it's so much greater than the sum of its parts. It's quite simply a magical place that you will want to return to time & again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch on Thames, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was on the way home from a break in Cornwall and ventured out of my way for lunch at the hotel, it is at the bottom of a very steep cliff. I stayed there a couple of years ago. The menu is fairly basic, but the food is delicious, reasonably priced and good sized portions. After a walk up the cliff path (it's steep) I was very tired on my return, so asked if the had a room for one for one night B&B. They had and I was shown up to room 6, a very comfortable room with an on-suite shower room. The best bit of the room was the view out of the window - superb! In the bar that night I was told it would be very quite, but it was fairly busy and very entertaining. Speaking of the bar, it is called The Wreckers Retreat, there are many interesting exhibits and details about local ship wrecks and the history of the quay, all very interesting. In season the is a museum which is even more interesting. If you turn right out of the hotel down the slipway to the beach, there are some amazing rock formations, you will have to do some more digging to find out how it happened (see photo).

Room Tip: Some rooms have a limited view, so state if you want a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Siting in the bar as I write this, stranded by the weather on our way to lundy. The greeting has been superb, the food is good value pub grub, but most important is the atmosphere. It's as if we have walked into an extended family's lunchtime, an elderly lady has trapped her hand in the door and is being treated as though she is everyone's gran.
We will have to come back and stay

Room Tip: Not staying this time but will have to come again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of September for a romantic break. The hotel is in a wonderful location with some unique history and artefacts. the beach is rugged and beautiful. The hotel is right on some walking routes and we had a lovely exerting 8 mile walk to Hartland Point Lighthouse. The village of Hartland is a charming place with a wonderful meal to be had at the Hart Inn. Highly recommended

Room Tip: a front room in one of the bay windows has wonderful views over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen-holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we are local, but still really enjoy visiting this pub at all times of the year. The beer and service are great, as is the food. But the best bit is the view- majestical in the summer, awesome in the winter!! Top tip- if the weather is not too bad and your party are up to it, park in the car park halfway down the hill and walk the rest. the walk back up helps let the food go down, but the turn around and look at the view- stunning!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We dined here on evening in September while staying in Upper Clovelly and looking for somewhere reasonably close to eat. The pub is quite good and the desserts were amazingly unexpected in such a locale!

The pub gets busy with locals which adds to the flavour of the place for tourists. The views of the coastline are simply breathtaking to say nothing of the sunset. I was just overwhelmed with the landscape (and I have lived in England for a period!!).

Staying in the local area? Do yourself a favour and visit for a late afternoon drink or dinner - its truly memorable and up there with a sunset at Darwin (in Australia) for breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
14.4 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
355 reviews
5.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
520 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
489 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
513 reviews
12.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartland Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartland Quay Hotel

Property: Hartland Quay Hotel
Address: Stoke, Bideford EX39 6DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hartland Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartland Quay
Hartland Quay Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing