We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bideford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 36 Bideford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I simply cannot recommend this bed and breakfast enough. Having booked rather last minute and without much research, we were delighted to turn off a little country lane and see the beautiful approach to old keepers cottage. The views are breath-taking, our room (river view) was lovely and spacious, the breakfasts were delicious and Lucy was the perfect host. It was an ideal place to stay, just 10 minutes from a wedding we were attending at Hallsannery. All in all, a lovely stay.

Jennie and Paul Brennan

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenroo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldKeepersCottage, Owner at Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you both for choosing to stay with us and sharing your thoughts with Trip Advisor - we enjoyed meeting you both and are glad that you had such a good time in Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have never felt the need to complete one of these reviews in the past but that changed last week when i stayed at the Old Keepers Cottage.
I think lovely is the best word to describe so many aspects of the Old Keepers Cottage, the location, the views up the river, the rooms (fantastic comfy beds you could get lost in) and most definately the owner Lucy. The welcome I received was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were superb, my favourite was the kedgeree although the full English was also very good. Thoroughly recommended, I plan to be back next week, can't wait!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicksmart1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldKeepersCottage, Owner at Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to put these lovely comments on our Trip Advisor page - we have stocked up with smoked haddock so you can feast on Kedgeree when you return !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Old Keepers Cottage, a wonderful home in lovely North Devon. Lucy and Geoff will make you feel so very welcome and at home. The view is stunning, the food delicious, particularly Lucy's scones and lashings of Devon cream! The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and the beds are delightfully comfortable. The surroundings are very natural and peaceful. One of our very favourite stays!

Bob, Vicki and Brenda.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldKeepersCottage, Owner at Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments - it was a delight to have you all to stay and we were so pleased
that you were able to enjoy a well earned break with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay at Old Keepers Cottage when we were house hunting in the area. What a lovely warm welcome, fabulous food (cream tea, evening meal, and breakfast!) and the most wonderful views. Our room was extremely comfortable and a particular bonus was that our two children had a lovely twin room just across the landing. They also loved running around in the big garden. Wholeheartedly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMarkT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldKeepersCottage, Owner at Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and glad that your family enjoyed racing around the garden with Patch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We highly recommend Old Keepers Cottage if you are looking for a home away from home and a warm welcome, this is the place to come. Absolutely beautiful surroundings, very peaceful. We will definitely be booking to stay there again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldKeepersCottage, Owner at Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words - it was a delight to share our home with you and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in August - Lucy & Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Old Keepers Cottage is set in the most beautiful Devon scenery, with gorgeous views and a really homely feel. I stayed with my fiancé when visiting family in the area, and it was a total pleasure - the food was delicious, the room clean and beautifully decorated. Lucy (the owner) was lovely - the booking process/payment etc. was all really easy. It's the perfect place for a weekend getaway - thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldKeepersCottage, Owner at Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

What an absolute pleasure to meet you and your fiancé - we felt very honoured that this very special trip for you both was to North Devon - we wish you all the very best for an extremely happy future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful cottage and what a lovely stay. I cannot fault a thing. Lovely rooms, great views.. Lovely evening by the fire. Tasty breakfast, tasty tea and scones! Thanks to Lucy for making our stay very comfortable. I recommend for couples or a family.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Siân-marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldKeepersCottage, Owner at Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are very glad that you all enjoyed your Devon break - come back and see us again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bideford hotels
2.6 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
514 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#5 of 9 in Westward Ho
105 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
756 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
613 reviews
4 mi away
Instow Barton
Instow Barton
#2 of 3 in Instow
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Keepers Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Old Keepers Cottage Tennacott Lane, Bideford EX39 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Bideford
Price Range: £25 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, character cottage 1 mile down a single track country lane in a stunning, quiet location overlooking the River Torridge yet only 2 miles from Bideford, North Devon. Blue Room - Super king size/Twin ensuite with river views Interconnecting four poster double room which can be booked with the Blue Room to make a family suite/large twin (shared bathroom) Garden View double (not ensuite) but separate private bathroom at bottom of stairs. The Old Nursery small twin room with separate private bathroom at bottom of stairs. Please note that if you book the Garden & Twin rooms the bathroom will be shared. Extra fold -up beds can be placed in all rooms except the Old Nursery Travel Cot available Welcome complimentary Devon cream tea, guest's sitting room, breakfast from our extensive menu in your room or at your leisure in our dining room with panoramic views. If you want peace and tranquillity then this is the place for you! Rooms from £40 per person per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Keepers Cottage Bed And Breakfast Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing