We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pasty I have eaten”
Review of The Cornish Bakery

The Cornish Bakery
Ranked #55 of 136 Restaurants in Bideford
Restaurant details
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best pasty I have eaten”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Always think pasties look delicious to eat but often they have that processed taste - have to say that those offered by the Cornish Bakery looked and tasted delicious with no after taste. Probably the best I have eaten in 60years. The range of pasties was also good. Other food looked good. We had our grand-child with us and the baby chair could be cleaner but otherwise no complaints and there was both indoor and outdoor seating. Part of the Atlantic Village shopping centre which is basically a large Asda with a few other shops in an arcade. Somewhere to go while Grand-child and daughter enjoyed the soft play area which she enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eagle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly with great pasties”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Popped in for lunch and the ladues serving behind the counter really made my visit. Very friendly with big smiles and tge pasty and brownie I had were delicious. A tad pricey (compated to a sarnie at Asda) but the customer service made it worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank mr_steely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Presto at Atlantic Village”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Pasty heaven! I regularly lunch here, always the same great quality every time. My favourite is the curried parsnip, it's delicious! The coffee is fab too I always have a latte and it's probably the best latte I can get in North Devon, very smooth and rich. The team are a delight, always happy and that makes a difference to the whole experience too. Well done Presto!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably our favourite Cafe”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have been to several of the Pasty Presto cafes in the West Country. All have been excellent.
We are not that enamoured of the Atlantic Village Shopping Centre itself, because we are not shopaholics, but we tend to visit it when we are near Bideford, just for a naughty treat at Pasty Presto!
The pasties are delicious with crispy golden pastry and generous filling with large chunks of meat and vegetables in a really tasty gravy.
If we are there for a snack, their pastries are equally gorgeous - and great with their excellent coffee. We understand their staff undergo barista training and we have found them to be very friendly and pleasant in all their establishments we have been to. We like the green credentials of the business and would guess they treat their staff well to inspire their obvious loyalty.
The cafes themselves are low- key and simple - but if you love croissants or pasties, try them!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Ideal 'coffee stop'. Staff are always polite, friendly and efficient.
Their pasties and other savoury snacks are delicious.
(I expect the sweet ones are too, just haven't tried them yet.)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller9909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cornish Bakery also viewed

 
Bideford, Torridge
 

Been to The Cornish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing