We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Beautiful looking hotel on first arrival. helpful friendly service. The rooms are very outdated and if your at the back of the hotel there isn't a view however the room (and whole hotel) was warm, comfortable and CLEAN. We enjoyed our stay however the food lets the whole hotel down. Most of it tasted like it was frozen and reheated on demand, and not a lot of it tasted fresh. As a quick bite it would do the job but not at the prices they charged for a dining experience. Saying that we would return as had a nice time (just eat somewhere else).

Room Tip: Room 207 has no view but is detached from other rooms making it quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worthsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am pleased that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and found the hotel to be warm, comfortable and clean.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment program on our rooms, so perhaps you could request staying in one of our newer rooms on your next visit.

I’m sorry you did not have the dining experience that is typical of Brend Hotels. I hope that on your next visit we can rectify that as we do use local fresh produce.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    193
    62
    18
    13
See reviews for
81
199
47
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
466 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Booked in at The Royal for one night as a stop-off on the way to Padstow. It has obviously been refurbished but lost non of its original charm. The staff were friendly and attentive, they gave "service with a smile". We dined in the hotel and the food lived up to expectation. We cannot fault the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoonerGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us this November.

It was good to know that you feel the hotel has not lost any of its ‘original charm’ in the resent refurbishment we have undergone.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and that the service came with a smile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.


Kind regards

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I had some business in Bideford and my staff booked the hotel for me. When I found out the price I wasn't expecting too much, probably a B&B type of affair. What a surprise when I turned up. An old Victorian style hotel(so don't be surprised at the squeaky corridors nor put off) with modern amenities. Secure parking was right outside, always a bonus, the reception was very friendly and the room was superb. Everything was clean and fresh, all the staff were attentive and the meals were first class. If I went that way again even for pleasure I would certainly stay here again. Thank you to all the staff for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I shall pass on your thanks to the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a really wonderful stay in this quaint hotel. Greeted by fresh flowers in the lobby, friendly staff and a great room with a view of the town and estuary. We highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing few days away. Had to put up some pictures up just to show you. Great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank May R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to thank you for the nice pictures you posted of the hotel regarding your stay with us in November. I am pleased you found the hotel relaxing and that you would highly recommend us.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Circumstances brought us to Bideford three times in four weeks, the first time we just turned up 'on spec' at the Royal and were so glad we did. A huge room (described as a de-luxe room)with a queen-sized bed was ideal for our needs. Every single member of staff we encountered was really professional in their approach, and the food was excellent. It's a Victorian building with many original features, so don't expect the shiny chrome and LED lights of a modern chain hotel, but instead just sink into one of the large armchairs in the lounge bar and r-e-l-a-x....

The third of our stays included organising and attending a funeral, and the Royal did a great job in accommodating our small party of mourners for refreshments and a meal after the service. A big thank-you all concerned for your unobtrusive service and your help throughout the week.

What more to say? Halfway through one of our journeys down from Yorkshire we had to stop overnight in a chain hotel (it claimed to be an inn of Premier quality....) and for only £3 less than a night in the Royal's de-luxe room, we got a very average room on an industrial estate and were served some truly dreadful food. Won't be staying THERE again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilandJennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us here at the Royal Hotel and I would to thank you on behave of the staff for your kind comments regarding your stay. I am very pleased we were able to accommodate in your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in the UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Comfortable hotel - excellent breakfast. Bed really comfortable. Lovely sheets. Windows rattled a bit in the overnight storm! Staff really proffessional. Great location. I don't know what else to say to make this review up to 200 characters!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travellingsue15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Royal Hotel recently.

I want to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive response regarding your stay.
It is great to know that you experienced ‘excellent food’ and ‘a comfortable night’s sleep while the storm was brewing outside that night!

We looking forward to welcoming you back and hope you are able to return again soon.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here twice now I have been impressed with the standards and friendliness of staff every time so much so I have now booked my wedding here! It's value for money good location cleanliness and good food set this hotel out as somewhere to go for a relaxing break away from it all. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archers150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay here at the Royal hotel and so much so that you will be holding your wedding here with us.

We look forward to making your special day equally as enjoyable and memorable as your stay.

Kind regards
Guest relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
5.5 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 12 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Barnstaple Street, Bideford EX39 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bideford
The Royal Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing