We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay at the Royal”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Three night stay at the Royal”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I visit the Bideford area twice a year and this was my first stay at the Royal 15th -18th April. It is a great location, by the bridge and the Tarka trail runs next to the rear of it which was excellent for my dog.
I was given a complimentary upgrade and had a great stay. Special mention to Margaret on reception and Courtney in the dining room who were friendly and helpful which makes all the difference. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there and hope in the future it will be my regular place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us has been enjoyable for you and your dog.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    206
    68
    19
    14
See reviews for
89
210
51
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've stayed at this hotel before but last time I was disappointed. We chose it this time because of its location and knowledge of the Brend brand.
This visit we were very pleasantly surprised to find an upgrade in decor and service. The receptionist was delightful, friendly and very helpful. We had been given a complimentary upgrade on our room and although the room was small it was beautifully presented. The bed was huge and comfy apart from the usual zipped up the middle lumps and bumps!
We slept well once a rowdy wedding party had got themselves to the correct rooms and settled down!
Sadly the restaurant does not have any windows and therefore appears dark but breakfast was a pleasant experience and the food was acceptable for three star, I particulalry enjoyed the fresh fruit salad. Staff accommodated the wedding party that arrived for breakfast in dribs and drabs and there was much moving of tables as they wished to start the morning together.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynSJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Hotel once again and to thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your stay with us. It is always great to hear great feeding back regarding the level of service from the staff. It was very pleasing to hear that you found your room comfortable, service good and the food excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

From all of us here at The Royal Hotel we wish you a very Happy 2014.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very impressed with cleanliness of the hotel. Unfortunately we had a problem with our room but when we brought it to the attention of staff, the way they dealt with the matter was outstanding. We were offered another room and would have been upgraded to a deluxe room if one was available. On returning to our room later in the evening we found a complimentary bottle of wine with wine glasses and a note of apology, that was icing on the cake. We would not hesitate to stay in any of the Brend Hotels if this standard is anything to go by.

Room Tip: We were in a back room, which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Elizabeth Church
Guest relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our second visit high standard of service and overall quality still very evident.
Must have an oustanding chef to serve up such high quality and very tasty meals all serveed with extemely efficient staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay again and will certainly revisit when we can.
Have stayed in hotels all over the UK & Europe and this is one of the very best without doubt.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 75casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your stay with us. It is always very good hear that our residents needs have been met whilst staying in the hotel.

Your comments will be passed on our members of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Elizabeth Church
Guest relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Three of us stayed for one night bed and breakfast in April. Lovely big room, comfy bed and reasonable price. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Staff were helpful an polite. Would recommend and would also stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable and the staff friendly.

We thank you for your comments and value them greatly.

Thank you for taking the time to write a response to your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We enjoyed another very pleasant stay at The Royal - comfortable bed and good food. We stayed in one of the back rooms - very understandable fpr one night only and it was quiet. Please do something about the shower!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor regarding your stay and to thank you for choosing The Royal Hotel for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming to back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our first time at a Brend Hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a small problem with the basin waste and it was quickly resolved by moving us to a better room. It was a pleasant stay for 2 nights but seemed a bit lacking in something for the price. Will we stay with Brend again? Probably.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor regarding your stay and to thank you for choosing The Royal Hotel for your stay. I am pleased that we were able to give you an upgrade and that you enjoyed your room.

We look forward to welcoming to back to The Royal Hotel in the neqr future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
1.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Barnstaple Street, Bideford EX39 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bideford
The Royal Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing