We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay at The Royal Hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My stay in Bideford was to enable a visit to an elderly sister in a care home. The 3-day package I was offered was excellent value and the hotel ideally placed. On arrival, my then single room had been upgraded to a double which was of 3* quality. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the hotel spotlessly clean. I enjoyed my breakfasts in the massive ornate dining room. My only (minor) complaint was the corridor noise in the night and what seemed to be noise transmitted from adjacent rooms through very thin walls. The Royal struck me as a classic hotel from the last century now effectively restored and updated as much as possible. All-in-all, I would surely return and recommend to others for a short stay. It is ideally placed for the quayside area and town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Botanicus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable and the 'exceptionally helpful'y. I am pleased you enjoyed your upgrade from a single room to a double and found our 3 day package of ‘excellent value.’

We thank you for taking time to post your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Fantastic week-end, we chose this hotel to be near family the staff were friendly & helpful but the icing on the cake was the sunday lunch we booked our family in and was not disappointed - the best selection of vegetables I have ever seen in any restaurant.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a review on tripadvisor. It is always very good hear that our residents needs have been met whilst staying in the hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you were able to join us for one of our Sunday carvery’s and found it to have ‘the best selection of vegetables you have ever seen in a restaurant.’

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nicely located, good decor in the lounge/public rooms. restaurant has good service and plenty of choice on the menus. Helpful staff. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss and the choice was not of quality. i.e. inferior orange juice.

Room Tip: A room with a view is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your stay with us. We are please you enjoyed Bideford and your dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed for just one night and hotel was chosen largely due to proximity of the Lundy Island ferry. Pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel and received an upgrade to the room which was excellent. Staff were also welcoming and the breakfast was good.

Bistro across the road also served delicious reasonably priced food in good surroundings.

Would thoroughly recommend the hotel as a base to visit the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane392014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Is it wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay so much with us and ‘would thoroughly recommend us’. Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.


Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I visit the Bideford area twice a year and this was my first stay at the Royal 15th -18th April. It is a great location, by the bridge and the Tarka trail runs next to the rear of it which was excellent for my dog.
I was given a complimentary upgrade and had a great stay. Special mention to Margaret on reception and Courtney in the dining room who were friendly and helpful which makes all the difference. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there and hope in the future it will be my regular place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us has been enjoyable for you and your dog.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've stayed at this hotel before but last time I was disappointed. We chose it this time because of its location and knowledge of the Brend brand.
This visit we were very pleasantly surprised to find an upgrade in decor and service. The receptionist was delightful, friendly and very helpful. We had been given a complimentary upgrade on our room and although the room was small it was beautifully presented. The bed was huge and comfy apart from the usual zipped up the middle lumps and bumps!
We slept well once a rowdy wedding party had got themselves to the correct rooms and settled down!
Sadly the restaurant does not have any windows and therefore appears dark but breakfast was a pleasant experience and the food was acceptable for three star, I particulalry enjoyed the fresh fruit salad. Staff accommodated the wedding party that arrived for breakfast in dribs and drabs and there was much moving of tables as they wished to start the morning together.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynSJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Hotel once again and to thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your stay with us. It is always great to hear great feeding back regarding the level of service from the staff. It was very pleasing to hear that you found your room comfortable, service good and the food excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

From all of us here at The Royal Hotel we wish you a very Happy 2014.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very impressed with cleanliness of the hotel. Unfortunately we had a problem with our room but when we brought it to the attention of staff, the way they dealt with the matter was outstanding. We were offered another room and would have been upgraded to a deluxe room if one was available. On returning to our room later in the evening we found a complimentary bottle of wine with wine glasses and a note of apology, that was icing on the cake. We would not hesitate to stay in any of the Brend Hotels if this standard is anything to go by.

Room Tip: We were in a back room, which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Elizabeth Church
Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
1.3 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
743 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
215 reviews
7.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Barnstaple Street, Bideford EX39 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bideford
The Royal Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing