We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Night Break Coach Trip”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Four Night Break Coach Trip”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel approximately 16:30 after an eight hour journey. We where greeted by the Manager and taken to the lounge who offered complimentary tea an biscuits to enable the porters to take our luggage to our room. The room was extremely clean and furnished to a high standard the bed very comfortable. The lady who cleaned our room daily, her attention to detail was exemplary. The reception staff where extremely helpful, overall a terrific experience from start to finish. We where on a half board basis. The experience in the dining room I would say was more in line with a top end restaurant. The main course was served under coshes with an array of vegetables delivered separately The breakfast was piping hot and cooked to order. Finally, I would say this hotel deserves more than a three star status and probably would have it if there was an outside area a gym and pool. . We have booked to stay here in July and are really looking forward to it unfortunately only a two night stay we were hoping for a week - so book early is my message.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    213
    69
    20
    14
See reviews for
93
217
51
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was our fourth stay at this hotel and as usual we found it extremely comfortable. All the staff ie reception, restaurant, and the lady who kept our room spotlessly clean, were very cheerful and the gentleman and lady running the bar which we used frequently during our stay. We did not eat evening meals as we were dining at lunch times with our relatives who live locally, but we can for sure recommend the food and the choice of same at breakfast. The parking facilities are good and the hotel is ideally situated for local attractions and walking, or driving to other places of interest

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor immediately above the main entrance door and experienced no problems whatso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clifford R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I've just spent a few days visiting relatives in Bideford and took my 89yr old father-in-law. We had a very enjoyable stay here and the staff were very attentive and pleasant. Breakfast was very good indeed. We had standard single rooms at the back and they were a little noisy but very spacious and comfortable and good value. Parking a little awkward at times due to vans and trucks obscuring the entrance to the main cark park but there is an over flow car park up the hill and short walk down steps to the hotel. Its not for the disabled, though you can drive up to the entrance if necessary to pick up and drop off.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if that's important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wiltshirejimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable and the staff friendly.

We thank you for taking time to post your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I recently took a group of forty people to this hotel...and there were no gripes! Our particular room was magnificent, with full bay windows looking out onto the old railway station platform. The room was immaculate and expensively furnished.
The meals were also excellent, with an extensive menu, added to daily with a separate "daily specials" menu. There really was something for everyone, with food served on hot plates, with domed covers that the staff removed with a dramatic flourish.
These staff were excellent, too. They were mostly very young and obviously well trained. None of them called us "guys," a welcome change nowadays.
The rooms were quiet and we could hear nothing from the passages or neighboring bedrooms. The large, flat-screen television was welcome for the IPL cricket and the tea-making facilities were very generous.
The bars and lounges were unusually comfortable, with plenty of seating.
We look forward to visiting some of the others of this hotel chain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Is it wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that it ‘surpassed all expectations.’ I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff, meals and menu excellent.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review and I am pleased to hear that all 40 of you had an enjoyable time.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently spent 5 wonderful nights at the Royal (May 2014) on a tour organised by The Brend Group and really could not find fault with anything. Clean, comfotable, well maintained room, excellent restaurant with plenty of choices on the menu,welll stocked bar and most outstanding was the level of quietly efficient and courteous service extended by all members of the staff we came into contact with, who seemed prepared to do anything to give us a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Is it wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay so much with us and ‘could not fault anything’

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had a wonderful weekend. Staff brilliant, room lovely. Food great. Only problem we had was the noise from a few other guests in the early hours., but that is not the hotels fault. Had a great time. The only negative and it is a minor one, the bathroom could do with a little tlc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tintonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you found the 'staff brilliant' and your 'room lovely and the food great.'

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My stay in Bideford was to enable a visit to an elderly sister in a care home. The 3-day package I was offered was excellent value and the hotel ideally placed. On arrival, my then single room had been upgraded to a double which was of 3* quality. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the hotel spotlessly clean. I enjoyed my breakfasts in the massive ornate dining room. My only (minor) complaint was the corridor noise in the night and what seemed to be noise transmitted from adjacent rooms through very thin walls. The Royal struck me as a classic hotel from the last century now effectively restored and updated as much as possible. All-in-all, I would surely return and recommend to others for a short stay. It is ideally placed for the quayside area and town centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Botanicus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable and the 'exceptionally helpful'y. I am pleased you enjoyed your upgrade from a single room to a double and found our 3 day package of ‘excellent value.’

We thank you for taking time to post your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ms Elizabeth Church
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
1.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
195 reviews
7.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Barnstaple Street, Bideford EX39 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bideford
The Royal Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing