We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Royal Hotel, Bideford” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Royal Hotel, Bideford”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

A fabulously family run hotel, it’s not totally modern, but full of charm and quite traditional furnishings and layout. The rooms are clean, nice and spacious and the hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The food/cuisine was also excellent. Right outside the hotel there are two local buses that take you into Barnstable, which is a very interesting town to visit.

Room Tip: The hotel is built on a corner site, so you can have a view of the river in the front of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

I am pleased you found the food excellent and the staff helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Regards

Lyndsey Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    193
    62
    18
    13
See reviews for
81
199
47
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on a dinner, bed and breakfast package as a surprise for my partners 40th. I was impressed with the customer service even before my arrival as Liz the customer service management helped with all my queries and requested promptly and professionally, she is a true asset to the hotel. The main areas of the hotel are clean and tidy and the history of the building has been well complemented. We stayed in room 220 which was very private, away from the other rooms and it was clean, a nice size and of a good standard. The food in the restaurant was amazing and the service matched. The only problems we had were there was a wedding reception taking place in the function below our room which had loud music until midnight ( which is to be expected at a wedding reception), the boiler/ water tank appeared to be in the loft above the room which was quite noisy when people began to use their bathrooms/ system started, the wine I had ordered as a surprise for our room on arrival wasn't there and there were a few errors on the bill when we checked out. Dispute these few disruptions ( which were addressed and sorted with a smile) we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for its excellent service and value.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kitkatExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Went to The Royal today for a carvery with the family (age range of 4 to 83!) and it was lovely. The food was excellent with plenty of choice, bigger plates would have been good though! The staff were very helpful, one of the waitresses helped my young son get his food so I was able to get mine without having to queue again. The baileys cheesecake was delicious :-) Would definitely go again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

I am pleased you found the food and staff excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Lyndsey Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Old 'royal' hotel in style and has the limitations of age,but also the charms, sneak a view of the Kingsley Room, The staff have the old courtesy and approach to service, Wonderful. The bed was very comfortable, the food great. It was our second stay at this hotel which says a lot, we shall be staying there again next year and that says it all.

Room Tip: Sorry, you might pinch ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Is it wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us again so much and ‘could not fault anything’

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Hotel next year

Kind regards

Lyndsey Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The Royal Is a stylish traditional English Hotel. The decor is fresh and tasteful, our room spacious, very clean and comfortable. All members of the staff were exceptionally smart, helpful and professional in all areas of hotel hospitality - a credit to Brent Hotels' training & high standards they obviously command .
The restaurant was pleasant & food quality was good, but felt the menu was a little staid in its selection.
The hotel is easy to get to with a secure car park and only a short walk across the bridge to Bideford centre.
An excellent base to explore North Devon from.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gpkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

I am pleased you found the staff excellent in every way.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Lyndsey Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a lovely 5 day break at the Royal. The room wasn't one of the updated ones, but was very well equipped, spotless, with a great shower. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Now for the best bit, we had the best Sunday lunch we have ever had, best to book! We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food so much and found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lyndsey Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent two nights. Very clean room and bathroom. Large room. The breakfast was excellent, so was our dinner.
The fan was a very good idea as the room was very hot and the windows can't open properly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
5.5 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 12 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Barnstaple Street, Bideford EX39 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bideford
The Royal Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing