We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two visits in the space of three days”

Mariners Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 134 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We will be closed on Thursday 9th, Wednesday 15th and Thursday 16th March. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Mariners (Formally Lathwells) is a Grade Two listed historic building in one of Bideford's oldest streets. The building dates back to the 1700's. History tells us it has been a Mariners house, an Inn, a sowing school, a private house and now a restaurant. Mariners is small, intimate and relaxing. The table is yours for the evening. Our food is cooked from fresh to order. We pride ourselves on seasonal fish and meat from the Bay Area as far as possible. Our menu changes often with specials featuring on a daily basis. We look forward to meeting you. Booking is strongly advisable to secure a table. We are open Wednesday - Saturday from 6.30pm. Last food orders are taken at 8.30pm.
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two visits in the space of three days”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The fact that my partner and I had lunch there on Thursday and revisited the following Saturday with my partners Mother probably tells you all you need to know.
We loved the new décor and are delighted that the restaurant is open during the day. (It only opened in the evening under its former name of Lathwells)

The place is spotless, with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The staff friendly and the food gorgeous.
Cant wait to visit again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rory226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    36
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent food and customer service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had lunch at the Mariners, and although some of our party we were just looking for a sandwich we all left happy and extremely impressed with both the food and the service. The chef (owner?) was very attentive and friendly and went out of his way to meet our needs. We had two lunch specials of Chicken Salad pitta's which were amazing value, some extremely tasty servings of fish cakes with chorizo, plus tiger prawns and a fish stew - all beautiful. I never write reviews but felt that the service and food were so good here that I had too! If we'd had time, I'd would have loved to have had dinner here as I'm sure that's when Mariners really shines. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommended and we loved it”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the tomato and lemon soup, healthier fish and chips through to the lemon posset, I loved every minute and every mouthful. We were greeted so warmly, the waiting staff were attentive and friendly, and the atmosphere was fresh and clean. The decor is quirky with the historical facts on the walls and had us smiling along with everything else here. I can't wait till we visit Bideford again to go back and try something else on this amazing menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love the New Make Over”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just been for dinner at the revamped Lathwells now
called The Mariner, and just loved the new decor. The food was up to the usual high standard we have always had on previous visits as was the service. Can thoroughly recommend the mini burger sliders for starters, they were delicious.
Now that lunch is also being served we will certainly be dropping in for a light bite

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryanne9Bideford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked for my dad's birthday dinner. The food was cooked to perfection all served up in a relaxed atmosphere with excellent value for money. Service was quick and staff very attentive. As an extra touch they even brought out a small birthday cake (as they knew that we had booked for a birthday). It was a lovely surprise and made my dad's evening. Can't wait to go back. Would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariners Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mariners Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing