We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful home cooked food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trout Inn

The Trout Inn
Ranked #32 of 78 Restaurants in Driffield
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Have recently been to The Trout Inn for an enjoyable lunch. Liked it so much we took friends there for dinner last weekend.Well-cooked, unpretentious food. More information on www.findsomewhere.co.uk
Hull. England
Level Contributor
269 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beatiful home cooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I had never eaten here before this visit so was a bit surprised at the old fashionedness of the building.
Fortunately the food more than made up for it.
Good service by pleasant waitresses. I had the steak pie and it was beautiful with loads of tender beef and nicely presented vegetables. My partner had the duck and also said it was delicious. We shared a dessert which was also very tasty.
We had booked a table for 7pm and were the first ones to be seated but it very quickly filled up and made a really nice ambience.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
1 review
“The Trout Inn Wandsford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Excellent good value food and friendly staff, However the Inns décor is quite dated. which in its own way could be considered part of the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tykemanv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Having read the reviews, thought we would give this place a go, being new to the area. Didn't look particularly special from the outside, but I'm glad we did! Food was brilliant, excellent 'home cooked' style and quality , made by someone who really understands food. Huge portions and very much enjoyed by us both -no room left for desert unfortunately . Like stepping back in time -home from home 1970's style, cosy and welcoming - no pretensions, it is what it is. Staff very friendly, efficient and welcoming. Already booked to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tellno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“First time diner, hope its not the last.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I recently visited the trout as a guest on a fundraising night. We had a three course meal , game soup for starters, roast beef and veg and sherry trifle. The food was superb, the best I've tasted for a long time. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stigger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Great food served hot well presented and cooked to perfection,nothing is too much trouble for the staff just ask if they got it you can have it. This is second time have eaten at the trout so far 100% happy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlychuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trout Inn also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing