We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely day out”
Review of Sledmere House

Sledmere House
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Driffield
Certificate of Excellence
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had a really good day here at Sledmere House, and as an added bonus there was a Vintage car rally there too. This is a great way to spend the day looking round the house and stunning grounds. There is a cafe , gift shop , picnic & play area , as well as acres of lush grassland with ornamental fountains and a lovely walled garden.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gillytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    58
    14
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“really lovely day out!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Really lovely place to visit!! Although we didn't realise it was just tour's on a Tuesday we were really surprised by the tour. The lady that took us round was really good and really knew her stuff!! She was very good and we learned a lot!! The grounds were beautiful and the cafe very nice!! A really lovely day out!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not open on a Saturday”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Through the gates the house and gardens looked fantastic, but it wasn't open on a Saturday which seems very odd considering it was a beautiful day. Perhaps we will return and see what it is like. It also seemed very expensive for what it was on the price list.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull. England
Level Contributor
278 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had a day out at Sledmere house and gardens there was also a chance to have a guided tour of the garden and a pruning workshop on fruit trees by the head gardener. It was a very enjoyable day. The head gardener was very knowledgable and interesting. The new stumpery near the rose garden is still under development and is in need of signage as you wouldn't know it was there. There were some nurseries selling their plants which was interesting but there needed to be more of them as there were only 3 attending. I thought there would have been some bedding plants for sale as May is the perfect time to be buying them but they were not selling any I think they missed a great opportunity. Enjoyed looking around the house. The cafe was a bit pricey. Will come back again in the summer to see how the garden is developing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank shazzy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fab day out!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to Sledmere house and garden for a day out. We were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and well knowledgeable of the place. There's car parking available on the site. We brought our food with us and we had a picnic. It was a grand day. It was a bright and sunny day. It's well worth a visit. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Virgeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sledmere House also viewed

 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Sledmere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing