We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Many reviewers have slated the decor of this hotel - yes it is naff and old fashioned but it is functional and is quite nice for a change! The hotel was clean enough, quiet enough and comfortable. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the cooked breakfasts were filling and tasty (with tiger bread toast!). The spa was a great bonus too with beauty treatments, gym, pool etc. The hotel was easy to find at only a 5 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Natsbats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Took friends on Saturday for lunch at 1.15pm. Stood around trying to be seated and totally ignored by staff and owner who was sat next to bar. Having caught their attention was told they stopped serving lunch because they had a wedding on. Asked why, as this was within their lunchtime service time, but totally ignored by rude staff who wouldn't even engage in conversation. The owner was looking but never intervened. This was in the public restaurant area, not the function room. Obviously they don't want locals for lunch when they're chef is too busy. This is a case of ignorant attitude. I won't visit again and will relay my experience to friends and family. This is not the first time the owner has taken a backseat ignoring guests. Turning customers away is a terrible business ! I wouldn't recommend the hotel accommodation either as it's shoddy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, my experience as a guest was the rooms were shoddy and the breakfast was below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I think that the Bell is a Marmite hotel, some customers will love it, and others will find it time warped. Have stayed here several times when celebrating New Years festivities and have always had a great time with good food and service. Stayed mid week for a couple of days to explore the East coast, and truly enjoyed the experience. Food, is first class, rooms very large, three room suites decorated in a very cluttered chintzy style, service very good. Car park can be a little tight, health club very well equipped. All in all a very enjoyable two days, and I would certainly stay here again in the future

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank inspector77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband has just spent a couple of nights here on business. This hotel although clean is tired and in need of updating. It offers a good assortment for breakfast. It has a free private car park. Very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kirstyanne108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I would highly recommend the Bell Hotel to anyone. We had a wedding for 120 guests, many of whom stayed at the hotel. We also used them as a venue for a post-wedding Sunday lunch. The Bell is incredibly good value for money for weddings. The menu prices are very reasonable for the quality and quantity of food, and the service for our big day was impeccable. There is a distict lack of 'W word' mark-ups, which reflects the attitudes of the proprieters. They also don't charge for chair covers, cake stands, tea and coffee after the meal, and all those other little things. They were also very flexible and tailored various items to meet our requirements (for example, our specific recipe for the vegetarian meal). It has everything you would want in a wedding venue - spacious function room which looks great when decked out in a quaint old building - the only thing it doesn't have is gardens for wedding photographs, but the kindly owners offer their own lovely garden for the purpose. The rest of the hotel is has antique-vintage beauty which the website doesn't do justice - the (complimentary) honeymoon suite for example. It's a hidden gem. If anything it's under-priced as a wedding venue.

Room Tip: They have some stunning suites full of antiques! Worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dr_Jude_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here to see our singer/songwriter friend record a live album. Very nice accommodation, well stocked bar [especially scotch!], meals excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. A most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrydodd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for one night ,arrived mid afternoon and there was still several parking spaces in the small car park. Could be some interesting manoeuvring if full. Was created by a friendly receptionist who showed me to my room number three on the first floor. There was a lift. I am glad she did as there are lots of long narrow corridors with low lighting and no obvious signs with the room numbers. As others have already commented it is in a time warp. Despite this my room was a good size and comfortable but the bathroom was small, but then I wasn't going to party in there. Toiletries supplied. A good hospitality tray and a good choice of TV channels. Free WI FI and I had no problem accessing my mail in my room or the bar. There was a third door in my room and I presumed it led to an adjoining room thus turning into a family room if required. I decided I would check it was locked only to find it wasn't and to my great surprise led to a sitting room. I had a suite. Nice chaise to drape yourself on but unfortunately no TV that's in the bedroom, but a nice space to chill out and read. There is so many interesting artefacts and pictures to see in this hotel with so many areas to explore or loose yourself. Dinner was okay you get huge portions the vegetables were nicely cooked. Breakfast was 7-30 and was very good. The staff were lovely. Would I stay again yes I think I would, yes it is in stuck back in time but that's part of its charm, every thing worked. My only one negative was the adapter with three appliances plugged into it I am sure it's perfectly safe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetjohn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driffield
12.2 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
594 reviews
11.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
237 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
0.0 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#10 of 17 in Driffield
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Bell In Driffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Bell In Driffield

Address: Market Place, Driffield YO25 6AN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Price Range: £62 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Bell In Driffield 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century listed hotel situated in the centre of Driffield ‘the capital of the wolds’. Tastefully furnished with antiques and fine arts, it boasts 16 individually styled suites and bedrooms, a beautiful oak paneled restaurant and The Oak Bar, featuring around 300 malt whiskies and local hand pulled cask conditioned real ales. The hotel also offers an unrivaled range of leisure facilities; swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, super spa, rasul, flotation tank, full nautilus gym, beauty salon featuring Clarins, hairdressers, squash court and snooker room etc. Situated within easy reach of historic Beverley and York. Award winning disabled access. Hotel not suitable for children under 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western The Bell In Driffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Hotel Driffield
Best Western Driffield
Driffield Best Western
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing