We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury family getaway!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dacre Lakeside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A luxury family getaway!!!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice already this year feb and July. We arrived early and our only disappointment was having to wait til 4pm for the keys, but the minute we entered our accomodation it honestly took our breath away! The view over the lake is simply beautiful, the furnishings are gorgeous the hot tub is so relaxing right next to the lake, the kids loved the ducks a bit wary if the swans though. We ventured into the village which is easily walkable we had 4 & 7 year olds with us, there is a lovely little park for them to play in, butchers bakers post office etc, really quite quaint. We ate at the dacre arms a couple of times and the food was great, we also used the chinese takeaway which is also great. Just looking at booking again can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smithdgoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    86
    37
    6
    10
See reviews for
145
167
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed in july at the height of the heat wave, lodge was lovely (waterside lodge - not a lakeside one), too hot to go in the hot tub but would imagine in cooler weather would be lovely. Only notice smell from sewage works very briefly once so that wasnt a problem. Occasional noise from the dual carriage way but not enough to be a problem. The biggest problem was, the heat in the lodge was unbearable but if you had any windows open in the lodge you were complete swamped by hundreds, and I mean hundreds, of insecs/spiders/moths etc, it really was a big problem, we had to wash the shower cubicle out every time we wanted to use due to the amount of insects getting into the lodge. Please, please get some fly screens fitted!

Room Tip: Request one away from the water so you dont have such a problem with insects!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Les4756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Never stayed in a pod before but this was well done. Reception was quick and also there is a bar kids playing area and pool table. The pods are next to the lake and the floor is padded to sleep on. About 10 x 6 the space is big enough for two has power and a heater. You can park the car close to the pods and carry your gear easily. Did not smell the sewage works mentioned in other reports nor the the dual carriageway bother us as not that loud. The bar is cheap and bingo is on on a Friday and a small town is close with other pubs. It is all well done and I would recommend going for one night irrespective of the weather.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Eccleston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here with our 2 year old as our last break away before our new baby arrives in November. I doubt it will be our last break away though because i am looking to get a last minute weekend break here again before November :) . We stayed in a gogeous log cabin with hottub, couldnt fault anything, this place is immaculate!! Took a pedal boat out o the lake which out littleboy loved and the golf course was good. Not far from Scarborough and Hull, worth a visit. We went to a gorgeous restaurant not far called the Pipe and glass...... a must if you are looking for something a 'little special'. On the first night our shower broke, the owner (i think he was called Darren) was ace, fixed the problem straight away and was really helpful. Can not wait to come back and have another relaxing break (well, as relaxing as it can be with small children) xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just had a 4 night break staying in the lodges.

After reading many reviews I thought I would be staying next to the M25 at rush hour with a major sewage spillage...but this is far from it. However if sat outside there is a slight drone of cars passing by but nothing that will ruin your time in these lodges and lovely surroundings.

The lodges themselves are very clean on arrival with fresh towels, gowns & slippers for extra comfort. The lodges are equipped with basic utensils and appliances but there is everything that you may need during your stay. The hot tub which is what makes the lodges romantic and perfect were clean and easy to use, also checked daily by a member of staff.

The park was easy to find. The reception building was modern and welcoming with friendly staff and very helpful. There are many activities available at the park.

Myself and my fiancé enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone wanting a romantic break or family holiday. We will defiantly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurenLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Me my partner and 2 year old daughter have just returned from a 4 night stay in cabin number 7 overlooking the pond.

We have stayed in 3 other cabins this year and this one is by far the best.

Very clean and beautifully designed inside.

It had a sliding door to step right into the amazing hot tub which is very private so no one else can see.

There is a few things to do here i.e golf, water walking in the ball, kayaking, and the peddle boats.

Bridlington is a 20 minute drive from here and has a great market on a Tuesday and Thursday. (7am - 2pm)

The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Before we went to this cabin we read reviews about the smell from the sewerage which is close by although you can smell it i personally don't think it was a big enough problem to leave a bad review about half the time we couldn't even smell it.

We had Wi-Fi But had to keep logging back in to it with the code issued to us ... This was our ONLY little issue we had (Nothing really) but we like to keep on the net .. ( out side the cabin our reception was fine to connect to the internet and to receive and make calls and texts )

THIS place is great for people who like to fish as there is 2 places to fish on the site and loads more around the site!

There was also other bad reviews about the noise from the busy road next to it and we could barely hear it and our cabin was right next to it i think some people can be really picky.

We were that pleased we asked if we could pay to stay the weekend as well but unfortunately they were fully booked for the next few weeks.

We had a really great time here and did not want to come home. would recommend to anyone to pay this place a visit. very happy and will be returning again this year :)


Also just to add there is Fixed speed cameras allover the roads leading to Dacre Lakeside Park be careful not to get a ticket.


I have described this as best i can and can't wait to visit again!!! :D

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 7 - Perfect to relax and fish the pond for Pike and Carp The Lake cabins are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deanbrad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were recommended these log cabins by some neighbors and booked having looked at the website but were still a little sceptical as to how good the cabins would be. On arrival at the site it was tidy, the reception buiding was in a very clean, modern and had no signs of wear and the log cabins had a barrier-ed entrance. On opening the door to our cabin (No8) the wife smiled and at that I relaxed!

It was modern, clean, comfortable and very well laid out with good beds, towels, dressing gowns and slippers provided and two bathrooms, one for each bedroom. One with a bath and the other with a walk-in shower.

It had an open plan living, dining and kitchen area with a modern fitted kitchen with built in fridge, with a small freezer compartment,dishwasher and a gas oven/4 burner hob, microwave, toaster and kettle. Utensils provided were basic but functional and did the job.

There was a covered balcony with a built in 6 seater hot tub and we were overlooking a pond adjacent to the main lake setting of the site.

The village of Brandesburton has 2 pubs that do food, a butcher/baker, a fish & chip shop/restaurant, a Chinese restaurant/take away, a newsagent and a small Costcutter, oh and there's a golf club too.

The site is only 6 lies from Hornsea, 12 from Bridlington, approx 10 from Beverley and/or Driffield and about 33 miles from Scarborough.

We toured the east coast and this was helped with having good weather. However, whilst on site we made use of the bar which was reasonably priced and there's a kids play area and being relatively flat my son had his bike out as did a lot of people. The hot tub was great on an evening to and checked by the site staff each day.

We had a great week and we would definitely consider returning both for a week as this time and even for a long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driffield
9.0 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
4.1 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
12.8 mi away
Raywell Hall Country Lodge Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
6.9 mi away
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
0.0 mi away
Wold Cottage
Wold Cottage
#1 of 1 in Wold Newton
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dacre Lakeside Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dacre Lakeside Park

Property: Dacre Lakeside Park
Address: 43 New Road, Driffield YO25 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Driffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dacre Lakeside Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dacre Lakeside Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dacre Lakeside Park Hotel Driffield
Dacre Lakeside Park Driffield, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing