We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay. . .”
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Certificate of Excellence
south shields
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another great stay. . .”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the Kings Head for the second time for a race trip to Beverley - not disappointed! Great service, staff are so lovely, breakfast very tasty, room (no.1) was spacious and clean, however, grouting in shower/bath a bit grubby. Also, this room faces the market square and as the weather was so hot we slept with the windows open and it was quite noisy - but this is no fault of the hotel. On arriving home I'd found I'd left my phone charger, I rang them and a very kind man said he'd post it on to me - great service! I'd definately recommend the Kings Head - £79.95 for a double room inc breakfast .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliedjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    177
    50
    31
    22
See reviews for
97
285
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I can't fault this hotel for value for money,
Very smart, modern, clean room. Albeit a bit on the dark side. Very helpful, friendly staff and a good breakfast. Don't trust your satnav to find the car park, especially on market day when roads are closed off.
No problems with noise from the late bar downstairs. Thoroughly enjoyed the night out in Beverley as well. We'll stay there again without doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wernda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We'd stayed at the Kings Head before, though only midweek.
First disappointment was the room. Room 7 is not a double room. It's tiny, with barely enough room to get round the end of the bed, and a clearance of about 10 inches between the wall and bed on the left. Nowhere to put cases, barely room enough to turn round. Furnishings dated and past their best ; putting a couple of big cushions on the bed and a print on the wall do not turn a hotel into a boutique hotel. Other rooms are much bigger and much nicer - charging full price for this is a bit of a rip-off,
Biggest problem was the Saturday night. Now I confess I'm getting on a bit, and don't sleep so well as I used to ( I managed to sleep through the first half hour of Hendrix at the Isle of White in '69 ). But I'd think most people would struggle to sleep whilst the bed is vibrating to the bass beat of whatever contemporary popular music was being played at high volume just underneath our room.
Now maybe a lot of people are looking for this kind of weekend, and would enjoy the undoubted liveliness of the place. And the (young) staff were unfailingly cheerful and professional. But if you're perhaps getting on a bit, and looking for somewhere for a nice quiet weekend, with a bit of style and comfort, where you can get tucked up with your Ovaltine and a good book by 11.00, I'd give this place a miss.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here after been double booked elsewhere. The staff were fantastic, the rooms were really nice and roomy. The location was fantastic- couldn't get more central. Great for a night round Beverley. It was a little noisy with it being above the pub but last orders are 12 o'clock so doesn't go on too late anyway. Breakfast was brilliant - Overall a really good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Once again very well looked after by Matt and his team at this lovely hotel. Really clean and well appointed bedrooms with such comfortable beds. It's our second home!! Staff are always wery welcoming and attentive and breakfasts are superb. Would always choose to stay here when visiting Beverley.

Room Tip: Avoid front rooms if possible on Fri evenings as the Saturday market sets up really early. Can expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Statler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Would certainly NOT recommend! If you are under 25 and staying up till 1.00am well go ahead.
The room we were staying in had seen better days. The towels and sheets were a bit grey and smelt of bleach, not very nice. It was like trying to go to sleep in the middle of a disco with the constant boom boom. The breakfast was terrible with the bacon hard and burnt at the edges and the fried eggs dripping in oil. The breakfast bowls and mugs were chipped and the fruit juice glasses with cracks. The front of the Hotel had also seen better days as the columns at the front were in need of a paint job as they were chipped and dirty. I booked this hotel on the basis of the tripadvisor rating but I certainly don't know how anyone could have rated this as high as it seems to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 57linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very noisey the clue was ear plugs in the bedrooms. Has been refurbished and looks well. Very warm in rooms. Car parking limited and on first come first serve, staff cars in first. The hotel is close to the town centre and provides easy access to facilites. Staff helpful

Room Tip: Car parking is restriced, Rooms very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
704 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 15 in Beverley
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: 38 Saturday Market, Beverley HU17 9AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 12 en-suite rooms is individually decorated to a high standard and offers flatscreen digital TVs, luxurious bedding, tea and coffee making facilities and free wi-fi for guests. The hotel is ideally situated on the High Street in the centre of the market town of Beverley in the heart of Yorkshire. The town offers the attractions of Beverley Minster and Racecourse and is a good base for day trips to Hull, Bridlington, Scarborough and York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing