We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfort beats the noise”
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfort beats the noise”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Yes it is a noisy location, certainly on a Saturday night, but the comfort of the room and the warm welcome by staff offset this disadvantage and the bed was so enveloping I never heard a thing once I'd settled down to sleep.

The breakfast was well served, a bit lacking in fresh fruit but OK.

Evening meal the previous night was at a discount - very busy but I did find a table, not always easy if one is on one's own, and it was a lovely meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Clapison, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm really pleased you had such a great time. I'm glad the noise did not affect your stay and you managed a good night sleep. Our central location does come at a bit of a price with regard to noise,

Hope to see you again soon

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    165
    48
    29
    21
See reviews for
86
266
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had an over night stay in room 6. Roof top views and some sort of generator could be heard during the night, but you got used to it. This small room had everything you needed, The bed was comfortable (4'6) and bedding and room were very clean. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was first class and service very good. Overall very good. Would recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, don't have room 6 as there is a generator going during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Clapison, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and I'm so pleased you enjoy your stay. We are really proud of our beds and pleased that you and many others mention how comfy they are!
We hope to see you again soon


Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here on a friday and sturday night, got no sleep until after 1 am due to very loud music in the bar. Otherwise very comfortable bed and good service but we should have being informed about the music ! Disappointed customer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Clapison, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay and especially the nice comments about the service and standards that you experienced. With regard to the noise, we do not hide the fact that on weekends noise will be a factor. We mention this on all sites that we are on as it is only fair to let people know. I'm sorry that you did not see this before your stay. We do have some rooms that are less susceptible to noise disturbance and for those that think they may need them, we try to accommodate that.

Thanks again

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed overnight at the Kings Head Hotel in a luxury double room which had lovely views of the rooftops which reminded us of Provence. The rooms were well equipped and clean, and the staff were extremely hospitable and helpful. For a hotel so well situated within a town, we found it was very peaceful. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Clapison, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. Recommendations mean so much to us and we really appreciate your great review. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Perfect location and great that you get parking included on site. Rooms were very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was delicious and good size portions. For the price we couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Clapison, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks a million for your great comments, they are really appreciated.
We hope to see you again soon.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked The Kings Head as a last minute stop off on the way up to Durham for the Bank Holiday. We were really pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms and the bathroom. We also got a fantastic welcome from all the staff. We got 20% off our food bill for being residents and a very generous breakfast was included in the price. The free wifi was also fantastic. We left to go up to Durham on the Saturday morning and got a phone call half way there to say we'd left some clothes in the wardrobe, so agreed to stop by and collect them on the Monday. However when we arrived up in Durham we found the hotel we had booked so disappointing that we decided to stay in Durham only one night and returned to the Kings Head for the Sunday night. We were welcomed like old friends and again had a great room. One of the most impressive things was the staff were all quite young which gave a great energy to the place but they were all mature and professional enough to look after guests and make decisions. On both occasions we checked in our bags were taken to our room without having to ask. Our breakfasts were made exactly as we asked for them (I like my porridge quite stodgy). All of the staff were fantastic but I have to give special mention to Zac and Jessica, and also the lady with bobbed hair who looked after us at dinner (Charlie?). Some other reviews have mentioned the noise of the music going on quite late. It did (well it is a pub!!) but on neither night we stayed there did this stop us sleeping. In fact with the TV on in the bedroom we could hardly hear it. I would definitely stay in the Kings Head again if visiting Beverley. In fact it would persuade me to use Beverley as a stop off point in the future! Thank you so much to all the wonderful team for making us so welcome.
Liz and Andy

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which was huge and overlooked the market square, then room 3 which was smaller b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepsirabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Clapison, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks so much for the great review, I'm guessing that it was your "Pink Shirt"!and jacket that was left behind! It's no trouble to reunite you with it and I'm glad you could pick it up as it would have cost a fortune for us to post it!!
Thanks also for identifying the staff who helped make your stay so great. It's through feedback like this that we can reward and continue to make the team and business better.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Beverley at the weekend with some friends and stayed at The Kings Head. We would definitely recommend this hotel/bar. The people who work here are really friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The room we stayed in was lovely, clean and comfortable.
We ate in the bar at lunchtime and also had the breakfast the following morning. The food was really tasty and good value for money.
All in all an excellent experience and we would definitely stay here again if we were in Beverley.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 27Bullseye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Clapison, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks a million for taking the time for a quick review. I'm really pleased and proud that you identify the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, we have a great team here and we all work so hard to do the best we can.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#2 of 15 in Beverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: 38 Saturday Market, Beverley HU17 9AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 12 en-suite rooms is individually decorated to a high standard and offers flatscreen digital TVs, luxurious bedding, tea and coffee making facilities and free wi-fi for guests. The hotel is ideally situated on the High Street in the centre of the market town of Beverley in the heart of Yorkshire. The town offers the attractions of Beverley Minster and Racecourse and is a good base for day trips to Hull, Bridlington, Scarborough and York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Hotel Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing