We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why no dogs???”

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Nightlife in Beverley
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why no dogs???”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I've been to this amazing old pub a few years ago before I acquired my lovely little whippet, Alfred.
My friend and I (accompanied by said whippet) turned up on Sunday at about 5 o'clock (from York) really looking forward to sitting down with a drink in one of the many little rooms, only to be 'greeted' by a sign on the front door saying NO DOGS.
When I asked the barman why, he told me that it was a blanket ban from the brewery, Sam Smiths.
I've always been saddened by the fact that this particular brewery owned this fine establishment because of the awful beer they produce, but now to find out that they've decided to ban dogs is just rubbing salt in the wound! It's a nonsensical, irrational policy. NO DOGS...in a pub for God's sake!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JontyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark E, Public Relations Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
The decision to ban dogs, was initially implemented by the management team (and not the brewery) for health and hygiene reasons.

Whilst many dog owners act responsibly - we were victims of a significant minority, on an increasingly regular basis - of irresponsible dog owners, who failed to keep control over their pets.

This resulted in complaints from other patrons for a variety of reasons - but mainly associated with roaming dogs at other peoples tables during (and sometimes trying to snack on) their meals - and also dogs fighting, and sometimes intimidating other members of the public - especially those families with children.

With an increasing risk of losing some regular clientèle, and the difficulties associated with trying to police the situation, due to the multitude of rooms, and limited staff - the decision was eventually made to do a complete ban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    61
    11
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Dickensian pub”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is everyone's idea of what a great pub should be: atmospheric with real working gas lamps, lots of small rooms, nooks and crannies, and cheap beer! The Sam Smith's Old Brewery bitter was £1.80 a pint; and I tried the gorgeous Organic Chocolate Stout for £3.80 a bottle. Nellie's is the best pub in Britain, without a doubt… they should have one in every town! I didn't eat there but they had liver and onions on the blackboard.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fredpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best pub”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

i loved this place, it was truly amazing and memorable, i look forward to going again soon, i want to try everything on the menu, the food is superb! there are various small rooms and hallways filled with tables to eat and drink, great building!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank m212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The White Horse, otherwise known as Nellie's is as warm in its welcome as the real log fire is in the bar. If you are looking for a music-laden pub for young things then this is not your pub. However, if you want a pub where you can talk to your friends, enjoy reasonably priced beer and gain a smile then Nellie's fits the bill. The gas lit rooms of the Coaching Inn cast an ambience of calm allowing you to relax after a busy day, or read a book by yourself in a nook. Upstairs is a room full of dilapidated splendour: from the old sofas to ancient chairs, the nick nacks certainly keep your mind occupied. A jewel in Beverley's crown.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Instant nostalgia...”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

So I was sitting there when I heard this bloke say "I first came here in 1996, and it hasn't changed a bit". "Excuse me," I said "i first came here in 1970 and it hasn't changed since then either!" (well it has - I noticed a smoke alarm that wasn't there 40 years ago, then there's the pool room at the back).
But in all other regards this is still "The Nellies" and feels just like it did when the three ladies ran it with a very firm hand. Still got roaring fires, is still dimly gas lit and brown painted walls look like smoke.
Instant nostalgia...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLesserMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing