We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay”
Review of Windmill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windmill Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The Windmill Inn is situated near the town centre. We stayed there for two nights - Friday and Saturday. The staff were friendly and service was good. The room was upstairs at the back of the pub. This was very clean and the double bed comfortable. The bathroom consisted of toilet sink and shower, perfectly adequate for our needs. The breakfast, was a full English, with as much toast as we could eat. Would use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs at the back of the Inn were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank revDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for one night at the weekend (Saturday Night). The window frame was broken so the window didn't close. Despite this, the room was red hot.
The beds were hard & old, the pillows were like bricks & the bathroom looked anything but clean. The noise level was unbearable at one point with early morning revellers in the alley outside!
We payed £52 for a twin room which was ridiculous for the room in question - Worst hotel room I have stayed in!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SugarpopsBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are separate to the pub. No problems with noise. The room was a ground floor double room, it was fairly basic with a small bathroom consisting of toilet, sink and shower cubicle.
The only problem we had was that the room was damp, it smelt damp as soon as you walked in the room and you could see it on the walls. There was only 1 opening window in our room which was very small and only opened into the courtyard outside of the room. This meant you could not get any fresh air into the room.
Yes its basic but seemed clean and tidy and a good place to get your head down. The price was very reasonable and included a full English breakfast.
I would stay here again and would recommend it if you are not going to be spending much time in your room and just need it to sleep and wash in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bexter1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed for two nights and a workman was hammering in the room below till .10'30 on Friday and Saturday night and the pipes in the room banged every time the loo flushed it was a. Nightmare

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doodls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Rooms are in an annexe, across an alleyway from the pub. This is an advantage because this is a noisy pub, loud music all the time - no place for a quiet pint after work. The rooms are on two floors around an enclosed courtyard which smells of cigarette smoke. My room was a basic single with shower. Nothing seemed to have been changed since the rooms were built. No sign of any redecoration - grimy tiles in shower. Net curtains had big holes in them, sheets were very thin with holes in them and the carpet also had holes. The springs in the mattress could be felt making the night's sleep patchy. Basically the owner seems to be reluctant to spend anything on the rooms to keep them in reasonable state. I stayed for a few days and the carpet was never swept and on two days there was no evidence of anyone coming in to clean at all. The website says they have free wifi, but this is only available if you sit in the pub which as I said was noisy.
The breakfast was OK - again the music was too loud for early in the morning.
I rarely give bad reviews for a British B & B but this was the most uncomfortable stay I have had for a long time. If I hadn't paid up front I would have moved elsewhere after the first night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yorkshireman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
589 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Game Bird
The Game Bird
#10 of 15 in Beverley
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 15 in Beverley
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Inn

Address: 53 Lairgate, Beverley HU17 8ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range: £58 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windmill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Inn Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing