We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“party night”
Review of Windmill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windmill Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The booking service was good
Welcome was good and helpful
Parking restricted, infact i think we had the only space, otherwise it's pay for parking
Room small but adequate, shower and toilet big in relation.
Toilet and shower room could have been cleaner, extractor fan filthy
Noise between rooms
Lovely breakfast and service

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed at the Windmill for two nights bed and breakfast. Situated just off the town centre, we were in an excellent location for shopping and eating out. A family run pub with nice rooms and friendly staff. We had a fresh cooked breakfast each morning along with the daily papers to read at our leisure. Will return here again when visiting Beverley.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just had a overnight stay for a night out in Beverley but all nice and clean. Room could do with a few bits and pieces being tidied up/finished off properly but ok for one night. Really nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loobyloo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights during the Folk Festival. Had a double room (no 3) which was small - double bed, built in wardrobe (no hangers) shelf for tea, etc and en suite (shower, toilet, sink) - but adequate for our needs.

The room was warm (a bit too warm actually - opened window but there was noise in the street below (nothing to do with the Windmill - its a cut through path) - so shut it again!)

The bedroom was clean and prepared for us on arrival. Staff were welcoming and friendly - but busy in the bar so we found our own room.

Breakfast was served in the bar lounge of the pub - it was very nice - even had veggie sausages though we hand't forewarned them.

Shower was warm and had nice clean towels.

Overall I'd say it was cheap and you get what you pay for. It met our needs, though I wouldn't have wanted to stay more than a couple of nights as the clothing storage was minimal.

Would stay there again for the festival - but would probably pay a bit more and find somewhere else if I wanted a bit more space / luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I had a room in a small courtyard. The room was very grubby and the bed and pillows were lumpy. Fortunately the sheets were clean and I slept quite well, nevertheless! The shower room was TINY, the flow from the shower erratic and the floor was wet on my last morning there due to a leak from the hot water tap (I think) on the wash basin. I noticed when mopping up with the bath mat that there was a black bait box behind the sink. The toilet made the most horrendous growling noise when flushed and so I refrained from flushing during the night to avoid disturbing anyone else in adjacent rooms. The TV was perched on a high windowsill and to watch it I had to place on the "dressing table" stool. The wardrobe was a large built in cupboard but inside there were holes in the wall and a motley collection of hangers, some of which were broken. There were no drawers anywhere.

The first morning I missed breakfast as I was told by a very nice young lady when I arrived that it was served from 7.00a.m. until noon - it's from 7.00 until 8.30a.m.! That was actually on a notice n the back of the door of the room but I didn't read it. The staff were friendly and the nicest thing about the place.

I wouldn't recommend to my friends but I guess you get what you pay for and it was cheap!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizzieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The Windmill Inn is situated near the town centre. We stayed there for two nights - Friday and Saturday. The staff were friendly and service was good. The room was upstairs at the back of the pub. This was very clean and the double bed comfortable. The bathroom consisted of toilet sink and shower, perfectly adequate for our needs. The breakfast, was a full English, with as much toast as we could eat. Would use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs at the back of the Inn were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank revDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for one night at the weekend (Saturday Night). The window frame was broken so the window didn't close. Despite this, the room was red hot.
The beds were hard & old, the pillows were like bricks & the bathroom looked anything but clean. The noise level was unbearable at one point with early morning revellers in the alley outside!
We payed £52 for a twin room which was ridiculous for the room in question - Worst hotel room I have stayed in!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SugarpopsBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
730 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number One Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Inn

Address: 53 Lairgate, Beverley HU17 8ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range: £58 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windmill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Inn Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing