We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newbegin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beverley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newbegin House
Ranked #2 of 16 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We enjoyed a fabulous Easter weekend in Beverley, which was made even better by staying at this lovely B&B. The bed was very comfortable, with beautiful bedlinen, the shower amazing and the breakfast wonderful - served by the delightful Nuala and Walter, who open their beautiful, quirky home to guests lucky enough to find them!! We could not thank them enough for their wonderful hospitality and for making us feel so welcome. This B&B is a great find in lovely Beverley and we would recommend it to anyone who has the chance to stay. There is also the added advantage of a free parking area behind this property - a great bonus in this town!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hydrauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
170
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Am hesitant to write this review as I am frequently in Beverley and want to make sure there's always space for me at Newbegin House!

I'm so pleased to have finally found this B&B, after trying pretty much every other place to stay in Beverley. It's quiet (unlike the Kings Head), with a lovely bathroom (unlike the Beverley Arms), and a super breakfast (unlike the Lairgate). The Iveson Room has a very large and comfy bed, and a view out over the garden. (Though the beer fridge is rather noisy and you may want to switch it off overnight.) Walter and Nuala are charming - Nuala makes absolutely sure your sausage sandwich is exactly as you would like it.

Confusingly there are two places on Newbegin called Newbegin House - this is no. 10, on the road, with a B&B sticker in the window. It's not the one hidden behind a large brick wall.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahnfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

This place really is a bit special. We were looking for a simple "bed and breakfast" but found ourselves as welcome guests in a lovingly restored Gerogian town house close to the centre of Berverley. The owners have taken great care in furnishing the house to a high standard with period furniture and features. The excellent brekfast, for example, is served in a dining room with an impressively large table and a crystal chandelier. Guests have access to a very comfortable lounge. Our bedroom was excellent, combining old fashioned charm with modern comfort and convenience. Newbegin House is only yards away from the centre of Beverley, but is tucked away on a side street with its own parking. (Parking in Bevereley can be difficult). Although we didn't take advantage of it in February, the house has a large walled garden that guests are welcome to use.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kodachrome25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

An excellently positioned bed and breakfast near the centre of Beverley. Being a Georgian house it has plenty of character and big rooms. We went in February and it the heating kept it very warm. The room had a fridge with real milk for the tea and coffee. The owners are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was of good quality. The king size bed was excellent and there was free WiFi. Will return later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
0.4 mi away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#1 of 16 in Beverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbegin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbegin House

Property: Newbegin House
Address: 10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Newbegin House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newbegin House is a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1746. It is quietly located in a small one way street only 103 yards from Saturday Market, and close to several excellent restaurants and pubs. Free parking is available. The owners Walter and Nuala Sweeney share the house with their three daughters and Walter's parents, who live in a self contained wing. We have three luxurious guest rooms all with pocket sprung king sized beds and a choice of a marble en suite bathroom with heated floor or a fully tiled piping hot shower or a bathroom with overhead shower. The largest room has space for up to three single beds for family use. There is a guests' sitting room where you can enjoy a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival. An award winning breakfast is served in our magnificent dining room, which has shuttered windows and a crystal chandelier. A fine drawing room on the first floor, with a marble fireplace at each end, is available for hire for small conferences and private functions. Uniquely in Beverley, we are 5 star rated with both QIT and the AA, and also have a breakfast award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newbegin House Hotel Beverley
Newbegin House Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing