We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & inviting”
Review of Newbegin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beverley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newbegin House
Ranked #1 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warlingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable & inviting”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here with my husband for two nights in December whilst visiting family before Christmas. We would thoroughly recommend this beautiful place to our family and friends. Walter & Nuala charming hosts and full of local knowledge. Breakfast was superb, fresh fruit, cereals, full Yorkshire cooked breakfast using locally sourced produce. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-Tagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Many thanks for your excellent review. We always enjoy having visitors in the run up to Christmas, as Beverley looks so pretty and there is even more than usual going on in the town.
Best wishes to all our guests for 2014.
Walter and Nuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
174
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at Newbegin house for 2 nights, and loved it! We stayed in Appleton Room - a big airy room with a huge comfortable bed and lovely big en suite bathroom. What made it extra special were the little touches like fresh coffee, fresh milk in the fridge in the room, lovely toiletries, and luxurious bedding.
We were made to feel most welcome, and the breakfasts were among the best we've had when staying away - locally sourced produce (the sausages were delicious!!)
The location is great too - a very quiet street, but a very short walk to the town centre.
We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in 2014.
Walter and Nuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Usually b&b stays are fairly run of the mill, however very surprised at how good this was. Huge room with good size bathroom and complimentary toiletries.
Very friendly welcome and one of the best breakfasts have ever experienced, fresh locally sourced and lots of it!

Well done and would definitely stay another time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your very kindly worded review, in which you have included lots of praise and not one word of criticism. Despite this, you have only given us four stars for value, location, sleep quality, rooms, cleanliness and service, which is very dispiriting and means that we need 10 "perfect fives" to restore our batting average of 5 stars.
Regards,
Walter and Nuala Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend as my boyfriend treated me. We were warmly welcomed into the most stunning, quirky house, with so many homely touches including a very friendly little dog. The drawing room which we stayed in was enormous, absolutely beautiful. Eccentric in style but completely magnificent. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with lots of choice, and my vegetarian needs were catered to. Very polite, friendly and helpful hosts. We would be happy to return should we visit Beverly again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, which is much appreciated. Juno (the little dog) sends her regards.
Walter and Nuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed one night in the family room and had a very pleasant stay. The room was large and spacious with very comfortable beds and the shower in the ensuite bathroom was just what we needed to wake us in the morning - very powerful! The breakfast was lovely - lots of choice of cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt, a full Yorkshire of local sausages, bacon, eggs, mushrooms and tomato and as much toast as we could eat along with at least 8 different preserves to choose from. Walter and Nuala were extremely welcoming and attentive - all in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The secret of the hot and powerful shower is that before opening our house to paying guests, we had an extra large bore supply pipe fitted - 2 and a half times the diameter of a normal supply, with consequent increased pressure without a noisy pump. We have three separate gas boilers to heat different parts of the house, and a heavily lagged immersion heater as a back up. The pipes leading to the rooms are lagged and have a fairly short pipe run, meaning that guests receive almost instant hot water and plenty of it.
Walter and Nuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in the Appleton Room which is large, has a very comfortable bed and is very well appointed - everything you might need (apart from wifi as far as I could tell, but this wasn't important so didn't investigate). Lovely rustic old house in a quiet location but only 100yds from the high street. Very personable hosts. Would certainly disagree with the earlier negative comments on the breakfast as it was the best hotel/b&b breakfast I have had for some time. Will definitely book again when we return to Beverley.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philosopher-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We hope you will come again.

We do have wi fi in all rooms, though reception is sometimes impaired by the thickness of our walls, so you may have to move your computer to find the best spot.
Regards,
Walter and Nuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a warm welcome at Newbegin House. The bedroom was warm and the bed cosy. The location, although fairly central in Beverley, was quite. Breakfast had plenty of choice, but the cooked Yorkshire breakfast was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review.
We were sorry you found the breakfast disappointing, despite (as you say) there being plenty of choice. We provide freshly prepared fruit salad, yoghurt, juice, and cerals or porridge. We use the finest available local bacon and sausages from Vanessa's Delicatessen in Saturday Market, and all our other ingredients are locally sourced. Vegetarian and fish options are available on request. Everything hot is freshly cooked to order, and served in a beautiful Georgian dining room with linen table cloths and napkins, silver plated cutlery and fine bone china. We would appreciate suggestions as to how we might further improve, since our ambition is to provide the best place to stay in Beverley, year in, year out. To us, 4 stars (very good) are a mark of failure.
Walter and Nuala Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#2 of 15 in Beverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbegin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbegin House

Property: Newbegin House
Address: 10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Newbegin House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newbegin House is a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1746. It is quietly located in a small one way street only 103 yards from Saturday Market, and close to several excellent restaurants and pubs. Free parking is available. The owners Walter and Nuala Sweeney share the house with their three daughters and Walter's parents, who live in a self contained wing. We have three luxurious guest rooms all with pocket sprung king sized beds and a choice of a marble en suite bathroom with heated floor or a fully tiled piping hot shower or a bathroom with overhead shower. The largest room has space for up to three single beds for family use. There is a guests' sitting room where you can enjoy a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival. An award winning breakfast is served in our magnificent dining room, which has shuttered windows and a crystal chandelier. A fine drawing room on the first floor, with a marble fireplace at each end, is available for hire for small conferences and private functions. Uniquely in Beverley, we are 5 star rated with both QIT and the AA, and also have a breakfast award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newbegin House Hotel Beverley
Newbegin House Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing