We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient market town, full of Georgian houses, so...”
Review of Newbegin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beverley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newbegin House
Ranked #1 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ancient market town, full of Georgian houses, so...”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just one "Terrible" review and crikey it is so undeserved. I wonder how many of us (particularly in older houses) can boast not having the odd cobweb?! I do hope that Walter and Nuala put it behind them asap. I rarely write TA reviews, but Newbegin deserves one.

A 37 room Georgian G2 listed house in the heart of Beverley. Just how often does the opportunity arise to even see inside one of these gems, let alone sleep in the upstairs Drawing Room? Walter and Nuala have cared enough to investigate its history and previous ownership and you get to read this fascinating report. There are old photos of the house in Victorian and Edwardian times. We loved the photo of the Edwardian family posing in the garden in an informal and laughing picture - so rare for those times.

Even their books (so many) are in alphabetic order.

We ate and slept well (the former courtesy of Walter and his girls at breakfast AND the local restaurants) and wouldn't hesitate to return, when visiting our own daughter at Hull. In fact we'll look forward to it. Newbegin is a wonderful, even quirky, home lived in by lovely people. And no, we're not related!


Heck, perhaps we ought to move to Beverley!

Room Tip: Only saw the Drawing Room. You can spend and hour just browsing in it. Even fronting NB Road, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
The most enjoyable part of running Newbegin House, apart from getting to live here ourselves, is meeting such delightful and appreciative guests. We cannot claim the credit for researching the history of ther house and its occupants since it was built in 1746. Susan Neave, a historian at Hull University, wrote the booklet you read and managed to discover a great deal about the previous occupants of the house, Susan was ably assisted by her husband Dr. David Neave, who researched architectural changes to the house, drawing on his considerable expertise on the architecture of the town. We owe them a debt of gratitude for bringing the past to life.

We would like to express our sincere thanks to all three of you for choosing to stay with us, and making our role in looking after you such a pleasure. Incidentally, we shall be opening the house and garden to the public in September 2014, as part of the celebration of Georgian Beverley.
Kind regards,
Walter and Nuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
177
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for the evening in February 2014. We had a wonderful stay. The house is Georgian and beautiful. The breakfast is stunning, fresh fruit, fresh bread all great local produce. The location is excellent just two minutes from the centre with ample off-road parking. Highly recommended

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, which is much appreciated. We are always delighted to welcome couples enjoying a mini break by staying with us, exploring Beverley and having good meals in some of the many restaurants in the town.
Walter and Nuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here with my husband for two nights in February whilst visiting our daughter at Uni in Hull.
Walter and Nuala were generous hosts. Well organised with full time jobs and a B&B to run. We stayed in the Drawing room , which is a beautiful large family room with a large comfortable double and two single beds plus settees and comfy chairs as well as usual bed room furniture. Small fridge provided and stocked with soft drinks, water and fresh milk for your tea and fresh coffee. Bathroom is a little small and shower is a mixer style above bath,but its was well stocked with lovely bath products ,plenty of towels and water was always hot when needed. Bath robes in the wardrobe, hair dryer, trouser press, iron and ironing board also available .Large TV and separate DVD player. The room is clean and decorated to fit in with the Georgian home. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit, yoghurt , cereals , full Yorkshire cooked breakfast sourced from local producers( sausages where superb). Located in a quiet street ,but only a few minutes from town centre, pubs and restaurants. Minster is lovely and enjoyed quiet walk around.. Can recommend White Horse ( Nellies )great atmosphere and warm open fires, for a quiet drink (no food in the evenings) . Have no hesitation recommending this B&B for a family or a couple you'll have a lovely break.

Room Tip: Only three rooms available and all look great but if you want a extremely large room ask for the Dra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjs1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your comprehensive and thoughtful review. Although the Drawing Room is the biggest room, and accommodates up to 5 people, if you would prefer a bigger bathroom, I recommend you try the Drawing Room for your next visit. It has a luxurious bathroom fully tiled with travertine marble, a roll topped bath ideal for a good soak with gold plated mixer taps and shower attachment, heated floor and a window overlooking the newly landscaped garden. As in the other rooms, The bed is a sumptuously comfortable superking, with over 2,000 pocket springs. It is also "zippable", so it is available as two singles if preferred, just as in the Drawing Room.
Walter Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Bit of a strange review in that I didn't stay there but bear with me. My wife had booked us in for a birthday treat along with a meal at the pipe and glass. Unfortunately I have been ill this week and could not make the evening, stomach churning, explosive gas etc. All week we hoped that it would go away but unfortunately it did not.
My wife called to cancel this morning and she said that the owner could not be more accomadating and waived any charge which I fully expected to incur. This note is just to say thank you and we hope to make it one day, the only problem getting rid of both children on the same night and getting a booking at the pipe and glass! All the best for the future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel71Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write in appreciation of our cancellation policy. We realize that guests cannot help being ill, and that sometimes, this happens very close to the planned stay with us. We think it would be unfair on guests to expect them to pay a cancellation charge, just because they are ill. We were very sorry you missed out on a meal at the Pipe and Glass and were unable to stay with us. We hope that you will soon be fully recovered and will make a fresh booking.
Walter and Nuala Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warlingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here with my husband for two nights in December whilst visiting family before Christmas. We would thoroughly recommend this beautiful place to our family and friends. Walter & Nuala charming hosts and full of local knowledge. Breakfast was superb, fresh fruit, cereals, full Yorkshire cooked breakfast using locally sourced produce. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-Tagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Many thanks for your excellent review. We always enjoy having visitors in the run up to Christmas, as Beverley looks so pretty and there is even more than usual going on in the town.
Best wishes to all our guests for 2014.
Walter and Nuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at Newbegin house for 2 nights, and loved it! We stayed in Appleton Room - a big airy room with a huge comfortable bed and lovely big en suite bathroom. What made it extra special were the little touches like fresh coffee, fresh milk in the fridge in the room, lovely toiletries, and luxurious bedding.
We were made to feel most welcome, and the breakfasts were among the best we've had when staying away - locally sourced produce (the sausages were delicious!!)
The location is great too - a very quiet street, but a very short walk to the town centre.
We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in 2014.
Walter and Nuala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Usually b&b stays are fairly run of the mill, however very surprised at how good this was. Huge room with good size bathroom and complimentary toiletries.
Very friendly welcome and one of the best breakfasts have ever experienced, fresh locally sourced and lots of it!

Well done and would definitely stay another time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your very kindly worded review, in which you have included lots of praise and not one word of criticism. Despite this, you have only given us four stars for value, location, sleep quality, rooms, cleanliness and service, which is very dispiriting and means that we need 10 "perfect fives" to restore our batting average of 5 stars.
Regards,
Walter and Nuala Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
5.3 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbegin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbegin House

Property: Newbegin House
Address: 10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Newbegin House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newbegin House is a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1746. It is quietly located in a small one way street only 103 yards from Saturday Market, and close to several excellent restaurants and pubs. Free parking is available. The owners Walter and Nuala Sweeney share the house with their three daughters and Walter's parents, who live in a self contained wing. We have three luxurious guest rooms all with pocket sprung king sized beds and a choice of a marble en suite bathroom with heated floor or a fully tiled piping hot shower or a bathroom with overhead shower. The largest room has space for up to three single beds for family use. There is a guests' sitting room where you can enjoy a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival. An award winning breakfast is served in our magnificent dining room, which has shuttered windows and a crystal chandelier. A fine drawing room on the first floor, with a marble fireplace at each end, is available for hire for small conferences and private functions. Uniquely in Beverley, we are 5 star rated with both QIT and the AA, and also have a breakfast award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newbegin House Hotel Beverley
Newbegin House Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing