We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is our go-to for the perfect family holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property
Holme Wold Farm Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holme Wold Farm Cottage
Set on the edge of the Yorkshire Wolds Fully equiped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Holme Wold Farm Cottage
Set on the edge of the Yorkshire Wolds
Fully equiped kitchen
Hallway and Shower Room
Sitting Room with real fire
Dining Room
Ground floor shower room
King sized bedroom
King sized bedroom - this bed can be converted into two 2ft 6in singles if required
Family bathroom
Twin bedroom
The back of the cottage
Large back garden
Plenty of space to park
We are an working arable farm
This tractor has been on the farm since 1950
We grow peas for Birds Eye
Our free range chickens
Tommy the Cat
Timmy the Dog
Stunning countryside - walking the Chalkland Way
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Bermuda
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“This is our go-to for the perfect family holiday - beautiful, peaceful and off-the-beaten track. We love it here.”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second visit to Holme Wold Cottage and quite honestly, we'd like to move in for good. The countryside and the views from our window must rank among the most beautiful in England. On arrival the kids head straight for the wide field in front of the cottage and a cuddle with characterful farm dog, Oscar. The cottage has everything for our family of four - all mod cons, comfy sofas, working fireplace and comfy beds - but best of all is the all-enveloping quiet darkness at bedtime so you sleep like a dream. I love the fact you can experience the authenticity of a working farm but with the luxury of a Michelin-star pub, the Pipe and Glass, as your local and market town, Beverley, just ten minutes away.

This year, my children aged 12 and 9 and I hired bikes from the charming and helpful Nadine of Wolds Cyclones Cycle Hire who will drop off and pick up bikes at your door. We then joined the regular stream of cyclists who tour the area's back roads inspired by the Yorkshire Tour, enjoying the beautiful countryside and negotiating the undulating roads with few cars to worry about - it was the perfect place to get my inexperienced 9-year-old used to cycling.

Many thanks to Anne Bulmer - always friendly and helpful and who consistently maintains the high standard of her cottage from year to year. We will be back as soon as we can for as long as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous views, clean and modern cottage, working fireplace, proximity to Beveley and local pub.
Liked least: Would be nice to have more of an outside sitting/BBQ area at the front of the cottage rather than at the back.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoraDaisy...
1 review
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is the second time we have rented this cottage and can't wait to go back for a third visit. It's set in a beautiful, peaceful location with nothing to see all around but greenery (except for the owners gorgeous farmhouse and the church spire on the horizon) yet it is only a minutes drive to the village. The cottage itself is lovely and homely - extremely well equipped and clean.
Truly truly lovely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cohollind...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed for a long weekend in mid march for a funeral. We had 2 children in our party and 4 adult couples. From the very start Anne was helpful and very quick to respond to email queries.On arrival at the cottage Anne was extremely friendly and had even baked us a lovely cake.The holiday home was beautiful and spotlessly clean, we enjoyed the peace and quiet and the children loved watching the wildlife in the garden. The beds were so comfortable (although reports from the couple on the sofa bed was it quite uncomfortable) however the beds in the main bedrooms received no complaints it felt like you were staying in a 4 star hotel!!! I really cannot find fault with the place, there was plenty of logs for the fire and at a rather upsetting time for us as a family it was a wonderful base to be together. We will definotley return and if you don't get a booking for Christmas Anne let us know if you would consider a short stay as we would snap it up :) x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyaTA
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Good size cottage, well furnished and very well maintained. In the country and close to South Dalton village with it's first class Pipe & Glass restaurant. Owner helpful and flexible with dates. Happy to have our 7 year old daughter staying. Compares well with other cottages in which we have stayed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent high specification family friendly cottage”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The cottage is decorated to a high standard and has a homely feel. The grandchildren loved the open space both inside and outside the cottage. Bath/shower rooms were spotlessly clean as was the rest of the house. Comfortable and spacious with open fire. Wi fi was a bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and feel it was worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard but family friendly feel about the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen901
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage that has everything you could need!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We arrived after a long journey from the Netherlands, to be greeted with homemade mince pies and flapjacks, complimentary champagne, and chocolate for the kids. The cottage is in a very peaceful relaxing location yet not too far away from shops. The owner was very friendly and helpful from booking right through to arrival and departure. The cottage was ideal for our family consisting of 2 adults, 2 teenage kids and 1 dog. We also had family staying a couple of nights and friends and family to entertain during our stay and there was plenty of room. The fenced garden was also a real bonus for the dog and the kids. The cottage has a real quality, luxurious feel to it and has everything you need including wifi (essential for all the family!) and all the cooking utensils you could think of. We would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and quality of the cottage
Liked least: Shower downstairs not upstairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NessSal
Bristol
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage, set in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at Holme Wold Farm cottage at the start of July (4 adults, 1 toddler and two babies), and had a lovely week. The cottage is beautiful, to a very high standard and is extremely well equipped. We had a warm welcome from Ann and her family, and the homemade flapjacks that were waiting for us on arrival, were delicious!
The cottage is set in beautiful, idyllic countryside whilst also having the benefit of being close to Beverley and Driffield.
In all we had a brilliant week (even the weather was amazing!) and would not hesitate in recommending this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage finished to a very high standard and well equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing