We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee and ice cream in the area”
Review of Rolando's - CLOSED

Rolando's
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Italian restaurant open from 9am serving breads, biscuits & desserts along with delicious scones, light lunches, daily specials & evening meals. All homemade daily, freshly & on the premises. Now also incorporating our brand new in-house daughter company 'poma' - making delicious artisan gelato right here on the premises!!
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best coffee and ice cream in the area”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Forget the conglomerate coffee houses who ship their profits off shore to avoid tax. This family run business is basic Italian and excellent value. Service is good although at busy times you may need to wait for your food as it is all freshly cooked. Look out for the coffee (best around in my opinion), superb ice cream (very low fat so you can eat lots!) and the chewy almond biscuits which will not be beaten! Yum....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    48
    24
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steven ”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We used to use rolando's allot however on our return today I noticed the cleaning standards were not great, which made me think what was the hygiene rating, it wasn't displayed so I googled it, a 2 which wasn't displayed, my sandwich wasn't great either, what's going on this on this place used to be so good!

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
213 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We visited Rolando's a while back and had an amazing coffee, we noticed that there was an interesting looking eating area behind the deli counter at the front and vowed to go back for a meal. Some months later we finally got round to it; expectations were high and we were not disappointed.
We had lunch. The menu is fundamentally Italian, but without pizza (although you can buy mini ones in the deli to take out for about £1.50). The menu also includes simple lunches such as soup and sandwiches; which is what we went for.
My wife thoroughly enjoyed her soup which was home made and served with garlic bread (you have a choice of the type of bread you want). I had a steak and mushroom hot sandwich served in ciabatta along with a side of wedges. The portion sizes were of a good size. The food came with very little seasoning, which was apparent to both of us even though we use little seasoning at home. The wedges could have been crispier.
The cost, including a drink each was £15.75.
Service was friendly, polite and prompt.
We went on a Friday lunchtime. The place was busy but we had no problem getting a table.
Furnishing and decor was fine as was the standard of cleanliness. The office style suspended ceiling did not enhance. Pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnochOllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Went to Rolando's Saturday night. It was quite buzzy. Meal perfectly adequate. Two dishes were exceptional.I can highly recommend the tomato and pesto soup. It was like a meal in itself, thick, unctuous and very tasty, although the accompanying bread was a little dry/stale. The main (goat's cheese salad) was ok, but the ice-cream was a joy. You must try the hazelnut. It was truly sublime. Would definitely go again just for the ice-cream. Oh, and would endorse the earlier remark about the almond macaroons. Absolutely delicious!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dinertime stop over”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Five of us called in at dinertime for a sandwich and cup of coffee. All the food was excellent and served with a smile. Very good value - we will be calling again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBarker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rolando's also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Walkington, Beverley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing