We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worse place we have stayed for a very long time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverley Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The worse place we have stayed for a very long time.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Booked without reading reviews as we were stuck for accommodation on a busy weekend in Beverley and we had booked a cycling holiday round the 'Yorkshire Wolds' Cycle way, every other B&B we tried was full (that fact should have set the alarm bells ringing !!)
On arrival we had to wait for about 5 mins for the manageress to show up after we had rung the bell saying "Ring bell, wait for 4-5 mins and if no answer phone this number....."
After been shown to our room we had to laugh at the comparison to the pictures shown on the website that depicted an almost luxurious room. The room was a hotch-potch of furniture with most having dirty cups marks on the surfaces, a dust covering on most ornaments, broken chairs and a fridge that wouldn't have looked out of place in a 20 year old kitchen. The bath was dirty and there was no towels, cups, tea bags, milk etc in the room.
The spare toilet roll on top of the cistern looked like it had actually been dropped in the toilet, fished out and left to dry!! The 'complimentary shower gel etc' was actually an empty bottle of 'lime source' that looked like it had been there a while. The soap on the sink was a large bar that again, looked like it had gone through a few visitors.
The manageress was pleasant enough and after about 1/2 hour brought the towels, tea bags and mugs up but had run out of milk portions, so returned 15 mins later with a jug of fresh milk. It seemed like she was trying to run the place on her own and as a second job. Later that evening on getting into the bed (with dirty fabric headboard) the bottom sheet wasn't a sheet but a valence trim that didn't fit the bed. We sleep well enough in a very warm room with the windows open which meant a bit of traffic noise from the road outside.
Breakfast was served in the 'Breakfast room' which took us about 5 goes to find the entrance (this involved actually going outside and back in). We just ended up laughing when breakfast was served (by a pleasant enough young girl). Tinned tomatoes that were truly awful (as cheap as you could get I suspect), a small serving of beans, a fried egg, two strips of bacon and an OK sausage. Bread for toast was self service and was positioned on the end of a large table (out of the two available for guests), It was a whole loft that you cut your own slice off, this seemed OK but as there was no holder or napkin provided after I watched 3 people handle the main part of the loaf with their bare hands the appeal of cutting a slice was lost.
The same style of old fridge as in the guest room was on one side of the breakfast room that had an assortment of almost empty butter tubs in it that seemed to contain more toast crumbs than butter. It was so bad that we just had to laugh!! On checking out (ring the bell and wait again) the young girl who served breakfast came through (the manageress had left - probably to avoid the inevitable complaints). We paid cash and there was no change "the manageress isn't here!!" What can we say - we'll read the reviews next time and find somewhere recommended. Such a shame - the location is fantastic just a stones throw from the spectacular Beverley minster but it has definitely fallen on hard times now. The "four star rating" emblazoned all over the outside was awarded in 2007 (god knows how!!). Avoid at all costs !!

Room Tip: Do not book this accommodation at all !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    20
    25
    179
See reviews for
44
103
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife was booked in at this guest house for a week in August.I was very put off by the trip advisor reports and cancelled my reservation. I spoke to the manageress of the house and she was very efficient and asked why. I considered avoiding the obvoius but bit the bullet and told her, it was because of the reviews. She agreed that things had been bad with the owner going through some 'issues' but assuring me that things had improved significantly and apologised.
I then took a call from the owner asking to discuss the cancellation. I had a frank discussion with him and he assured me that his 'issues' were under control and he had mostly handed the business over to the manager ( who seemed very able and keen to improve).
I was left with the feeling that if it were ME that was considering staying then i probably would.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank robhardy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beverley hotels

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were booked in as a treat from the family, so did not check for reviews. On arrival I was about to go in the main enterance, when a woman rushed out and told me to go to the side enterance for Bed & Breakfast bookings. The enterance was up several well worn stone steps. The plastic sign was laying across the top step, very dangerous. Booking in is from 2pm onwards, we arrived at 3.30pm, our room was not ready. When we were eventualy lead through the jungle they called a garden there was a man reparing a bench we had to step round him and his tools. We reached room 10 with a rotary washing line full of curtains up against the window and plant pots piled against the other window. On entry there was a stain on the carpet, the room was thick with dust, bedding tired and threadbare, towels were grey and grubby, tv, fridge,and bedside lights did not work. In the bathroom I found 2 spiders in their webs, hair in the shower and on the floor, basin and taps thick with soap scum, towel rail covered in dust and something else which I could not identify. We had a choice of cold or very cold water to wash with, and the hand wash bottle was empty. At breakfast the manfrom the gardenwas in thekitchen cooking, still wearingthe same clothes from the day befor. He rushed into the dining room to stop us from useing the window table as coffee had been spilt and he had not had time to clean it up. He then grabbed a jug of juice from a family to give to us, butter was on the table still in its wrapper,ceareal boxes were empty, 4 bread bags with a few slices in each, cracked cups, no table cloth and cutlerydumped on the table. We were shewn the swimming pool, a large hole in the ground with old doors and wood thrown over it so that inspectors would not see it and make a fuss, we were told. When we left the bench was still not repaired and thetools were still all over the path.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Awful. Room and shower room dirty, shower lacking flow control, shower door stuck open, shower plughole blocked with hair, towels grey, the garden, which obviously was once pretty and pleasant, is overgrown and in the process of being wrecked. No breakfast on first morning because it was full (other don't read reviews either!) and on the second day, in spite of the two women being trying their best, was bad. Any claims to be "Beverley's new boutique hotel" are well out of date (as are the photos on the website). Such a shame. But at least we were spared the drunkenness and abuse - the owner was just rude.

Room Tip: Just don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Dreadful, dreadful, appalling. Filthy rooms, grumpy staff. It was SO terrible it became funny in the end. Such a shame, because Beverly is wonderful. The Minster is a joy, so welcoming. The townsfolk smile at you for no apparent reason (just because they are nice). The only reason we stayed there is because everywhere else was full. Now we know why....

Room Tip: Don't use this place. Seriously, don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Creative_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed one night on July 1. The stay started off slightly bizarrely as in no one answers the bell at reception; you have to call the proprietor. The rooms were to be honest OK. We didnt inspect it that much. The house is charming and we gathered subsequently from the minicab driver, 3 ladies in Beverly, the tourist office and the police - who all knew of the proprietor - that his mother had run this place previously. But I would not recommend a stay there. The proprietor is very rude. Breakfast was a fiasco. Unwashed plates. The kitchen should have been closed down on health and safety. The crockery was not clean. We were subjected to, whilst having breakfast, hearing incredibly crude and abusive language being hurled at a couple who argued that the price should be lower since breakfast was really not provided. When we decided to pay and leave the owner refused to give us a credit card receipt - we had given credit card details over the phone. He went off to his room, so we called and he told my partner that he couldnt give a receipt as he was too drunk but that the credit card would be debited later. We had to go to the police at the end - and the advice in UK is - you are entitled to a receipt as a matter of law. Finally went back and there was a lady who gave us a receipt for the cash we paid. We did insist that our card details be blacked out on the reception book - as the book is open to all, the door is open to all, and well frankly....just do not go there. It was the worst B&B experience - primarily because having a shouting, rude, inappropriately dressed, drunk proprietor is a scary experience.
Beverly, on the other hand, is a gorgeous place!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Uma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

By far the worst B&B that I have ever stayed, A real shame as it has so much potential and is in a great town. Parking is advertised as available, just pick a street nearby. I managed 800m. The room was filthy. The shower had not been cleaned and there was a big urine stain next to the toilet. The floor had not been swept or vacuumed for a while. The towels had seen better days and the sheets had stains. No milk in the room, but there was cans of beer in the fridge?? The list could go on. I did not try the breakfast,as I did not want to find out how dirty the kitchen was. A real shame, just no pride taken by the owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MikeR827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
2.8 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Potts of Flemingate
Potts of Flemingate
#14 of 15 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverley Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverley Guesthouse

Property: Beverley Guesthouse
Address: 2 Keldgate, Beverley HU17 8HY, England (Formerly Minster Garth Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beverley Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minster Garth Guest House / Beverley Guest House has absolutely nothing to do with Trip Advisor nor the horrible people who generally post such rubbish and hurtful things on this trashy review site. We are the least expensive Guest House in Beverley, run by a Family Team, who strive ceaselessly to improve and maintain our beautiful grade 2 listed town house. The people who offer this unrelated platform and those who post such lies, exaggerations and untruths should be ashamed of themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Beverley Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minster Garth Guest House Hotel Beverley
Beverley Guesthouse Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing