We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The 5 Eastgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 5 Eastgate
Ranked #2 of 15 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longyearbyen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a great two nights stay in this very friendly guest house. Great rooms and breakfast in a good location. Will definitely stay again! As tripadvisor says I need 200 words here is the same review again...We had a great two nights stay in this very friendly guest house. Great rooms and breakfast in a good location. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank This_field_is_daft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGHOwner, Owner at The 5 Eastgate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is very kind of you to take the time to do it.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Julie & Ray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    40
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
170
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This guest house gives a warm, personal and friendly welcome.It is ideally situated to explore the lovely town of Beverley with The Minster and the varied interesting shops and market on the doorstep.We were grateful for the help with parking for our 2 night stay.We had a good night's sleep due to the comfortable bed and quiet street and were served an excellent breakfast .We especially liked the kippers! Our room had a generous supply of hot drink facilities ,toiletries,slippers and finishing touches and was very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17KP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGHOwner, Owner at The 5 Eastgate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely room, great location, nice toiletries provided & the breakfast was great. What makes this place extra special is the lovely hosts, Ray & Julie. Very helpful, friendly and just lovely people.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGHOwner, Owner at The 5 Eastgate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review, it's really appreciated.
Regards
Julie & Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Staying at the Eastgate Guest House in Beverley gave us everything we were looking for - a very warm welcome, a delightful room (with an extremely comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities, a good en suite facilities) and a delicious breakfast with excellent choice of food. It is ideally situated in the heart of Beverley, very near the train station if you are travelling without a car and it is ideal for visiting the Minster and other places. The owners, Julie and Ray were most helpful and friendly. Look no further - this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGHOwner, Owner at The 5 Eastgate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's really appreciated.
Regards
Julie & Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I was really satisfied specially with the service of this guesthouse! Julie & Ray the guesthouseowner are very friendly & helpful.... and the breakfast is great!
The guesthouse is well located and I can recommend this great place & I will come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Excellent location opposite the train station and 5 mins walk into the town centre. Clean, warm and cosy room. Friendly and accommodation owners, breakfast was lovely! We'll definitely be back and recommend this as the best guest house we've ever stayed in!

Room Tip: All rooms ensure and excellent power shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Eastgate Guest House, Ray and Julie made us very welcome.The room was spacious and beautifully clean.There was a huge choice of breakfast items - even fresh fruit - and the cooked breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
565 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
699 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#4 of 15 in Beverley
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5 Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Eastgate

Property: The 5 Eastgate
Address: 5 Eastgate, Beverley HU17 0DR, England (Formerly Eastgate Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE 5 EASTGATE A warm welcome awaits everyone all at THE 5 EASTGATE. Previously named The Eastgate Guest House, still owned and run by the same family for the past 51 years. Why the name change then? After downsizing THE 5 EASTGATE has been fully refurbished to a high standard. Maintaining the beautiful original Regency features which this historic house has, whilst hosting a contemporary look. As the original Eastgate Guest House was both number 5 & 7 Eastgate, we decided to start a fresh with a new name. So THE 5 EASTGATE was born. However it’s still business as usual, so all the things you’ve come to love and expect about Eastgate are still here, and much more. THE 5 EASTGATE has been accredited by Visit England, has 4 double bedrooms which are en-suite and 1 with private facilities. Rooms have digital flat screen TVs with 50 channel freeview, also tea and coffee making facility. Not forgetting the free Wifi… We’re very proud of our Breakfast Award and being part of “deliciouslyorkshire”, which means we use locally sourced ingredients from reputable suppliers only for your breakfast. Ideally situated in the heart of the historic town of Beverley. Within 5 minutes walk of the beautiful Minster, bus and train station. We want your stay with us at THE 5 EASTGATE to be on you remember and tell your friends and family about, for all the right reasons. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Kindest regards Julie & Ray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The 5 Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Eastgate Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing