We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & relaxing”
Review of Lily Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lily Hill Farm
Ranked #4 of 20 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We had a one night stay in this delightful and charming B&B on a working farm after breaking up our journey from London to the Lakes. We received a very warm & genuine welcome from the owner. The rooms (view, warmth, cleanliness, size) were exemplary. The homemade scones and biccies were a real treat! Breakfast was tasty and substantial and there was an all-round feeling of relaxation and unfussiness. I would heartily recommend this place for a trnquil stay and would have loved to have stayed and explored the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Lily Hill Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Lily Hill Farm is a beautiful Farmhouse B&B . We were made to feel very welcomed from the moment we were met, the room had subperb views and the bed extremely comfortable. One of the nicest touches were the homemade scones and biscuits in the room, which were delicious. With the breakfast you are spoilt for choice, it was also beautifully cooked and presented. We will definately be going back to Lily Hill Farm hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara_egan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Tucked away in beautiful countryside just outside Barnard Castle, this is an example of farmhouse B and B at its best (complete one has to say with the occasional agricultural smell). The room was comfortable and sparklingly clean, and we were warmly welcomed. Substantial breakfast, needless to say. Modern bathroom, although the shower was a bit amateurish.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Periplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Lily Hill Farm is a beautiful Farmhouse B&B surrounded by fabulous countryside & wildlife & within easy distance of so many beautiful & interesting places. The warm welcome we received was second to none, the room was stunning and the breakfast was delicious. The only thing I would have wanted to change was the length of our stay it simply wasn't long enough ! We will definately be going back to Lily Hill Farm hopefully in the not to distant future as it is a walkers & wildlife lovers paradise.

Thanks for a fabulous stay and we hope to visit you again soonx

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I really enjoyed my 2 night stay at Lily Hill Farm. I found it very restful and the breakfast was of very good quality, as were the lovely, oaty biscuits that were provided in my room. I will definitely try to book in again, when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1wibble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here about 5 years ago and when we needed accommodation in the area this year we rang and luckily was booked in for a night's stay. The room is really clean and well maintained, the welcome is great and the breakfast, well thats fantastic. We will be back when we need a room in the area again. It is a bit off the main road but with only birds, cows and sheep as company its a very quiet location.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FENTONS161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a very good B&B a short distance from Bowes and Barnard Castle. The beds are very comfortable and a large bedroom and en suite make this a very relaxing stay. The host's attention to detail makes this a very pleasant overnight stay.

Room Tip: The larger of the two rooms is preferable.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clast49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barnard Castle hotels
3.0 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 20 in Barnard Castle
57 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
498 reviews
3.0 mi away
Baliol House
Baliol House
#11 of 20 in Barnard Castle
16 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newgate House
Newgate House
#5 of 20 in Barnard Castle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Hill Farm

Address: Brignall, Barnard Castle DL12 9SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range: £66 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lily Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lily Hill Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lily Hill Farm Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing