We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet B&B”
Review of Lily Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lily Hill Farm
Ranked #4 of 20 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet B&B”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Only a hop and a skip from the A66, but Lilyhill is beautifully quiet and peaceful.

A warm welcome and a lovely comfy room in a gorgeous old farmhouse with plenty of space for luggage and relaxation and a nice view over the walled garden where the birds serenaded us.

The scones and jam on arrival were lovely - I wish I could make scones as good as that!

And breakfast was excellent. We rebooked immediately for our next trip on the same route, which says all that's needed, I think!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

What a place to stay!!!
Karen & Frank were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Fresh home-made scones on arrival, spacious very comfortable bedroom, peace and quiet - wonderful. Breakfast was excellent, cereal, fresh fruit, full English if required, fresh toast and lashings of tea or coffee. Our 4 day stay was simply not long enough, despite the weather, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Relaxedtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights to attend a wedding nearby.

I can't add much more than previous reviews, other that to say that we had a nice stay and enjoyed the peace and quiet that the location provided.

Special mention must go to the breakfast, it was really good!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KINGKONG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very comfortable stay with welcoming hosts. Nice touch to have fresh home made scones on arrival. Comfortable, well appointed room and an excellent breakfast with fresh fruit salad, full English breakfast and ample coffee, toast etc. Highly recommended. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I spent two very relaxing nights at Lily Hill Farm: the room was perfect (spotlessly clean and quiet, well-proportioned with a gorgeous view and an excellent matress), and the breakfast was delicious (great range to choose from too). The location is both convinient (just off the A66) and idyllic-the surrounding countryside is beautiful. The welcome was warm while not being overwhelming, and we couldn't have been more cimfortable. We would strongly recommend Lily Hill Farm!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HC2009London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A friendly welcome, a spacious, comfortable room, excellent breakfast, and a peaceful rural location. Our window overlooked the farmhouse garden, and sheep grazing land with the moors rising in the distance. Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lily Hill Farm for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding nearby. We received a very warm, friendly welcome from Karen, the owner. Fresh homemade scones in the rooms on arrival and fresh milk for tea/coffee were a lovely touch. Rooms were great and breakfast fantastic. Can't recommend Lily Hill Farm highly enough. We'll be back sometime in the future.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mubarak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
3.0 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
220 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 20 in Barnard Castle
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
482 reviews
2.8 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
306 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#12 of 20 in Barnard Castle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Hill Farm

Property: Lily Hill Farm
Address: Brignall, Barnard Castle DL12 9SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lily Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lily Hill Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lily Hill Farm Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing