We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with super staff”
Review of Jersey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jersey Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel with super staff”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were staying in the hotel for a wedding do. All the superior rooms were booked, but we were thrilled with the standard room. Really clean and tidy and completely peaceful. The staff were super friendly and the food was great value for money and tasty. Definitely somewhere to go back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    59
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
46
102
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in a room which boasted colour tv , cooker and whirlpool bath. The tv and cooker didn't work and the bath when switched on produced some disgusting mildew in the water. The windows didn't open and the heating was left on- in june - boiling ! There is barely any knowledgable staff - one person checks everyone in and mans reception and organises events - ridiculous ! The food is very hit and miss , burnt and cold sometimes.This is not somewhere for someone who is a fan of good food or who wants a good serviced room. The location is the only reason to stay ! Dj is also dire - not sure how he managed to get a job doing it , wouldn't take requests and put some random songs on !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moo8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I viewed this venue for a wedding last week on behalf of my daughter who lives overseas.She had been impressed by pics on the website and its more informal feel.The whole farm has a run down feel about it ,but the wedding and reception barn type room could have been really nice except for the horrible musty smell .The tables were set for a wedding but not sure if this was for show or not as the tablecloths certainly didn't look very clean.The garden area leading from these rooms was lovely but the cheap chairs on the terrace didn't do it justice.A bit of TLC by the management would surely bring this venue up to the standard that it appears on their website.The first thing to be addressed though is the musty smell !!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannette210352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Booked a night away for my wife & myself. We'd stopped at Jersey Farm once for lunch & had said that we'd like to stay on another occasion. We were greeted on arrival, checked in & shown to our room, which was very nice indeed, overlooking the main yard. The room itself was very comfortable, with a 4-poster bed & a gorgeous bathroom including a Jacuzzi. Evening meal was tasty & plentiful; we opted for the carvery as the meats etc looked good, and they tasted good too. It was surprisingly quiet for a Friday night, but it WAS the end of February... After a good night's sleep we went for breakfast, and again this could not be faulted. Good selection & plenty of it. Staff friendly & helpful; price reasonable. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My family visited this restaurant for our Christmas dinner. It was *not* cheap and we were surprised to find that they'd crammed sooooo many people into a small room. The room soon became unbearably stuffy and so the atmosphere was not good.

The food was average at best. Some parts of it were best described as "school dinner" quality, with a taste to match. Other parts were OK but not really anywhere near as good as it should have been for the price.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful so that gets them one plus point.

We won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I have been to the Jersey Farm several times for meals including Christmas and for private celebrations and have never had a bad meal yet. The Carvery is excellent where you can eat as much as you like. I will be there again next week for another celebration and know that I will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We booked this venue last minute as they were offering a good deal for New Year and we are so pleased that we did!

Four of us booked into the family suite which had a double and a twin room on the ground floor and a really large living space and kitchen on the top floor. We were really surprised to have so much space!

Everything was clean and beautifully presented. The spa bath was amazing and a real treat as well!

On the evening we attended the function in the Barn which consisted of a 3 course meal, disco, fireworks display at midnight and a glass of bubbly.

The meal was delicious with their famous carvery as the main course. I took the dessert some what as a challenge as you could request as many different sweets as you liked! And just to personally ensure I couldn't move for a week there was also a cheese board to finish us off!

The beds were very comfortable and we all slept really well before we faced the breakfast!

Breakfast was set out as a buffet and was all delicious even though I was ready to pop by then! They had all the usual suspects including hash browns, black pudding, sausages etc etc. All of the meat seemed local and of a good quality.

So for all of this for £90 pp on New Years Eve we felt truly spoilt as all the staff were lovely, the surroundings are stunning and it is just a two minute drive into the nearest town; Barnard Castle!

Thank you for all the staff for making it a wonderful New Year! Can't wait for the next one!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
2.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
1.3 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jersey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey Farm

Property: Jersey Farm
Address: Darlington Road, Barnard Castle DL12 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jersey Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jersey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey Farm Hotel Barnard Castle
Jersey Farm Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing