We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jersey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jersey Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Certificate of Excellence
County Durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I just love the decor of this place, it really has the wow factor. The food is good, desserts can sometimes lack taste but overall it is pleasant. The Sunday dinners are particularly nice. For anyone wondering, I'd say it was worth a try.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank claiiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    58
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
44
99
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Had a lovely night away had carvery, pudding and coffee which was excellent. stayed the night the room was lovely and the bathroom was brill . the views were great . the staff were all lovely they brought us drinks 2 the table we didnt have 2 get up and go 2 the bar. the brekky was georgous , the lady in the morning was lovely so chatty. overall a lovely time and will defo be back .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were staying in the hotel for a wedding do. All the superior rooms were booked, but we were thrilled with the standard room. Really clean and tidy and completely peaceful. The staff were super friendly and the food was great value for money and tasty. Definitely somewhere to go back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in a room which boasted colour tv , cooker and whirlpool bath. The tv and cooker didn't work and the bath when switched on produced some disgusting mildew in the water. The windows didn't open and the heating was left on- in june - boiling ! There is barely any knowledgable staff - one person checks everyone in and mans reception and organises events - ridiculous ! The food is very hit and miss , burnt and cold sometimes.This is not somewhere for someone who is a fan of good food or who wants a good serviced room. The location is the only reason to stay ! Dj is also dire - not sure how he managed to get a job doing it , wouldn't take requests and put some random songs on !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moo8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I viewed this venue for a wedding last week on behalf of my daughter who lives overseas.She had been impressed by pics on the website and its more informal feel.The whole farm has a run down feel about it ,but the wedding and reception barn type room could have been really nice except for the horrible musty smell .The tables were set for a wedding but not sure if this was for show or not as the tablecloths certainly didn't look very clean.The garden area leading from these rooms was lovely but the cheap chairs on the terrace didn't do it justice.A bit of TLC by the management would surely bring this venue up to the standard that it appears on their website.The first thing to be addressed though is the musty smell !!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannette210352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Booked a night away for my wife & myself. We'd stopped at Jersey Farm once for lunch & had said that we'd like to stay on another occasion. We were greeted on arrival, checked in & shown to our room, which was very nice indeed, overlooking the main yard. The room itself was very comfortable, with a 4-poster bed & a gorgeous bathroom including a Jacuzzi. Evening meal was tasty & plentiful; we opted for the carvery as the meats etc looked good, and they tasted good too. It was surprisingly quiet for a Friday night, but it WAS the end of February... After a good night's sleep we went for breakfast, and again this could not be faulted. Good selection & plenty of it. Staff friendly & helpful; price reasonable. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My family visited this restaurant for our Christmas dinner. It was *not* cheap and we were surprised to find that they'd crammed sooooo many people into a small room. The room soon became unbearably stuffy and so the atmosphere was not good.

The food was average at best. Some parts of it were best described as "school dinner" quality, with a taste to match. Other parts were OK but not really anywhere near as good as it should have been for the price.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful so that gets them one plus point.

We won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
2.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.0 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
22.7 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jersey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey Farm

Property: Jersey Farm
Address: Darlington Road, Barnard Castle DL12 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jersey Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jersey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey Farm Hotel Barnard Castle
Jersey Farm Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing