We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlooked breakfast”
Review of Jersey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jersey Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Please cook your breakfast to order, to be faced with dried up bacon etc is not very appetising, rooms have a retro look which was fine, the surroundings were ok, and would be a good price if the food had been better, in this day and age there is no excuse

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank paulpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerseyFarm, Owner at Jersey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Due to the size hotel we are, on busy breakfasts we offer a carvery breakfast. If a customer asks for something fresh we will do it to order, the carvery is meant to serve large groups who all come down together. Im sorry your breakfast experience was spoilt and i have brought this up with the breakfast staff to cook smaller amounts and top up regularly.

I hope you will visit us again so we can improve your opinions of us.

If you have any questions or we can help answer any quiries please dont hesitate to contact me.

Regards
Mark Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had been invited to a party at the hotel, so decided to treat ourselves to a night away. We booked a standard, double room, which turned out to be a ground floor "chalet-style" room. First impressions were very nice, and we were quite impressed. Quite modern, with a nice, wet-room shower bathroom. However, the shower was ruined by a lack of underfloor heating. Having the bathroom floor covered in cold water several hours later spoiled what would have been a nice touch.

Considering the room was recently refurbished, we we quite surprised at the lack of maintenance, with loose taps, coat hooks, ripped bath throw, light bulbs not working etc etc. It's picky, but when you notice so many little things, you tend to look for them even more.

Anyway, a good party followed, with a decent buffet, and (expensive) drinks, leading on to a good night's sleep. Next morning, we went down for breakfast, which was self service. The bacon, beans and eggs look like they'd been left out all night. Obviously not being turned around quickly enough with the restaurant being empty. Not very appetising, and out of date brown sauce sachets, led us to leave breakfast quickly. We had booked for Sunday lunch, but decided to check out early and find somewhere nicer to eat.

When we returned to the room to check out, a quick inspection lead us to discover that the patio doors had been open all night - the bolt was actually missing from the door, so it wouldn't lock at all - not good for a ground floor room.

We decided to mention all the issues to reception (who had also been on shift the night before, and also was working in the restaurant (only 1 member of staff????). He didn't really know what to say, or how to handle customers who weren't very happy. How he can work in a hotel is beyond me. He knocked £10 off the bill, but offered no apology or any real interest in taking note of any of the issues.

Overall, a real disappointment. We should have saved the money, and driven home after the party. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerseyFarm, Owner at Jersey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Guest.

Thankyou for your review about your stay, We take these comments very seriously and will try to rectify as many of them as we can in the future. The room in question was a free upgrade as we had an empty superior double available that night.

We have recently employed a maintenance man to correct all the faults which occur in rooms on a weekly basis so hopefully the general standard of fittings will be maintained to a better level in the future.

Breakfasts are usually cooked and served to order but on mornings after functions we offer a carvery breakfast due to the number of guests coming down all at once but we have implemented new procedures to improve the quality of the breakfast.

Regarding bar prices we are on a par with most of the local public houses with draught beer from £3.20 a pint and spirits with mixers from £3.00 which we think for a hotel of our size is competative.

We welcome all comments both good and bad as it helps us to improve as a company and offer a better service in the future.

If we can help with any of the comments mentioned please dont hesitate to contact us.

Regards
Mark Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My two daughters took me and my husband for my 70th birthday to the Saturday lunch time carvery. Once a very popular place for locals we found quite the oppoiste much to everyones disappointment. Both daughters had travelled on from South Yorks picking us up in Durham and one from Cumbria. The first thing was the place was freezing saw only two more couples one couple sitting with their outdoor clothes on and no wonder. The meal itself would have been lovely if it had been warmer. Most of the veg was luke warm. The meats were lovely and plenty of choice. On a better note the young man who served us was a right cheery chappy and probably the one person who made our day better. Sadly we would not recommend this place as we had intended to spend the afternoon there but had to leave shortly after our meal on account of the cold rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsW1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerseyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Jersey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review about the Jersey farm Hotel.

We really do take all comments seriously and try to improve on any negative aspects. I agree that the hotel can sometimes be cold and it is something we are looking at fixing.

We do have a very warm lounge area with a fire for after dinner coffee and drinks. im sorry if the member of staff on duty did not mention the lounge to you during your visit.

Our carvery is usually one of our strongest and most popular sellers, and therefore any complaints regarding the carvery are taken on board. It is our common practice to replenish the vegetables whenever new customers come into the carvery, therefore I will bring this issue up with the chefs.

I have recently fitted stronger heat bulbs and added an extra light to the carvery unit so hopefully the carvery will remain hotter during service.

Hoping to see you soon.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Slightly eccentric entrance decor but service from all the staff we met was great. A very helpful and friendly team. Room was as expected, clean and functional. Double bed was two singles joined together. Shower didn't seem to work but bath OK. Food was far better than we expected and the service in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was equally good. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yantofram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Spent new year here with my fiance and the family, hotel itself was amazing with georgous food and very helpfull staff. Log cabins were lovely and cozy and ideal for pet owners as we took our 2 dogs. We had a four poster suite which was decorated lovely but the jacuzzi we had was very dirty and didnt work, when staff came to fix it, dirty water with bits in it came out of the taps so we decided not to use it! Other than that, the shower and toilet was very clean and hotel itself was lovely.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Little_Miss_Honda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I spent a delightful over night stay at Jersey Farm, Barnard Castle. The decor is very contemporary and different. The staff are really welcoming and are very friendly and polite. We had a relaxing drink in the cosy bar before going to the restaurant to eat. My wife and I both had the carvery which had 4 meats and was "first class". We finished off our meal with a shared dessert of treacle tart and lemon and coconut cake with fresh cream and ice cream. The choice of desserts is fantastic. We then turned in for the night to our room which was across from the main hotel building joined by a covered walkway. The room was a good size and very clean. We had been left a couple of biscuits in the shape of farm animals, a nice touch. All in all this was an excellent hotel with very good staff, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had room 18 which was at the end of the line of rooms. It overlooked the countryside and you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed as guests at our cousins wedding.

Chose a premium room at £126 including breakfast which gave jacuzzi bath, four poster bed and lots of room with well appointed technology too.

Checking in was different to the norm where payment was expected up front yet they didn't then take a CC to secure incidental expenses so I wound up paying by CC when u wanted to pay with debit card - it was quickly refunded after I clarified my preference.

The venue is beautiful and for those visiting stunning Barnard castle are well placed with a couple only mins in the car to be in the centre.

Our room was fab and added to the experience whilst attending a wedding reception. The standard rooms was also remarked upon as being nicely decorated and appointed by other wedding guests

Would certainly stay again if in the area

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
2.6 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
9.1 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
451 reviews
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,361 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jersey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey Farm

Address: Darlington Road, Barnard Castle DL12 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Price Range: £79 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jersey Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jersey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey Farm Hotel Barnard Castle
Jersey Farm Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing