We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but Tired”
Review of The Red Well Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnard Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Well Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Darlington
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Quirky but Tired”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This was a bargain voucher break from one of the many voucher sites out there, and we have ate here before and have never been disappointed so were thoroughly looking forward to our stay, on arrival we were checked in and directed to our room, being told that the food finished at 1930hrs and only in the bar, shame as we were looking forward to the complimentary bottle of wine with the meal in the restaurant. Even so the meal was okay and the bar was clean and tidy, very quiet but that would be expected on a sunday afternoon...
The room, we were directly at the top of the stairs and bemused by it really, very quirky and individual but also very tired and not exceptionally clean, the travel kettle took ages to boil and the bathroom was like a prison cell, no windows, poor lighting and no extraction so not great, the bed was possibly the most uncomfortable we have attempted to sleep in, I say attempted as we were both shattered in the morning, breakfast was nice though and set us up nicely for the day,
We certainly wouldn't recommend this place to any of our friends, not to stay for the night anyway!!

Room Tip: Not room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    36
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
56
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We too were on a Groupon deal in Feb 2013 which was a gift and very much appreciated. We stayed on a Sunday in fact The Cup Final was on!! We received an extremely warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Alex and his team. We met some friendly locals Carl(os), Stu and Chris who were an entertaining bunch and great fun. I have read other reviews regarding the service being less than satisfactory. I need to disagree and must say that normally on a Sunday only the Bar meals are available. However Alex happily offered us the 'a la carte' menu. The food was fantastic do not miss trying the scallops and prawns with black pudding on a bed of crushed peas! I don't normally entertain peas but this was a delight. The Fillet steaks were cooked to perfection. We stayed in room 7 which was very nice and I slept like a log. Alex was there to meet us for breakfast with a smile and I requested eggs benedict with smoked salmon, yet again Alex was only too happy to oblige. It was a lovely treat with lovely people and we will return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beamish, england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Visited the Red Well in as part of a Groupon deal in February 2013. Welcome was really warm and room was clean, modern and well furnished. The pub was extremely good with friendly locals and the staff tried their hardest to accommodate my request to show the Newcastle match. We went to the hotel restaurant for dinner, food and wine really good and a fair price. Breakfast next day was good and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights (Sun 24th and Mon 25th Feb '13) in the large family suite, which was pleasantly decorated. The staff at the Red Well Inn were second to none in welcoming us, in particular there was Alex who made sure we were very well looked after. And we were delighted with the standard of food served in the bar/restaurant, we ate here both nights and the burgers served at the Red Well Inn are exceptional by the way - the best we've seen and tasted in a long time! :-)
Plus the breakfasts were really delicious too, we had the classic Full English. The Red Well Inn is in a great location in Barnard Castle and if you're looking for places to visit during your stay there are plenty - including the superb Bowes Museum, High Force waterfall, country walks near Middleton plus Raby Castle to mention a few. We'd recommend this as a great value base for your stay in this fantastic part of Britain.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room (Room 8), which had an enormous double bed with shower en-suite, plus t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanneowen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in room 8 which is a nice warm and cozy family room. Had our evening meal in the restaurant and it was very nice indeed. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. All in all a nice place to stay in great location for us to explore the area and excellent value for money which for a family break is all you ask. Really enjoyed our stay...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xpert71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

For the Groupon price of £39, this was OK. If I had paid the full price I would have complained. Let's start with the positives. The restaurant is nicely decorated and a pleasant place to be (we had breakfast there). The breakfast was also good. The bar area was again nicely done out and the nooks and crannies were good for a quiet chat. And that's about it really.
Now for the negatives. Check-in was faster than speedy. We were booked in on the basis that my wife's first name matched the name on their list! "Your room is up those stairs and straight in front of you"...and that was it. We were not asked if we wished to dine with them that evening, so booked into Blagraves instead (that was about £70 of potential lost revenue straight away - unlucky!). We did call in for a beer at the end of the evening - the real ale (Timothy Taylor) went flat within seconds - not a good pint at all. The barman (owner?) never spoke a word of pleasantry either at the bar or at breakfast the next day. In short, customer service was extremely perfunctory and did nothing to sell the place to customers. On that basis alone we will not return - Glasgow Paisley Premier Inn was friendlier and cheaper! Finally, the room...it wasn't awful, but a bit tired and in need of a re-fit. However, we have stayed in places like that before and even a short explanation by the owner of what they were doing will suffice - upgrading is costly and the Groupon deal is to get some revenue in to do the upgrades etc. Has the owner actually tried sleeping in the room? If he had, he would have realised that the radiators need to be bled - they only warm up on the lower third and gurgled all night which severely disturbed sleep. The room had no details about their meals, time of breakfast etc. If you aren't that fussed about customer service, then the Redwell is OK, but it wasn't for us - the owner/staff lacked any passion and never once tried to make conversation or make you (as a paying customer) feel special and that was a big let down.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank changingman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husband and I went to the Red Well for dinner in the restaurant last Saturday. We had recently been in for a quick bar meal, and thought it was really nice and good value for money, which is why we booked to go back to the restaurant.

Unfortunately, I was left quite disappointed by the experience, and wouldn't go back. For my starter I had the garlic chilli prawns. Instead of a 'sauce', the prawns were just swimming in chilli oil, which made them quite unpleasant to eat. Also, I felt that 7 medium sized prawns, swimming in oil, served with 'seared' bread (which just tasted bitter and burnt), was not good value for money at around £7.

For my main course, I chose moules mariniere. The size of the main was on the small side, and the moules themselves were anorexic little things - not the big, fat juicy moules you usually get out. Very disappointing and hardly worth the effort of removing them from their shells. The accompanying fries were OK though.

For my dessert, I chose toffee and butterscotch ice cream. I absolutely LOVE good ice cream, but this tasted powdery and had a lot of ice particles in it. Again, not nice to eat.

My husband had the duck starter, moules with chorizo and chilli for his main, and just a coffee instead of dessert, and he said his food was OK, although there was no sign of any chorizo in his main.

The bill, including drinks, came out at a little over £50, which is really cheap, so it was hardly worth making a fuss over, so we didn't. It just goes to show though, you get exactly what you pay for!

Personally, I wouldn't go again. The service was good, but the food let it down big time. I would rather pay an extra £20 and get a nice meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieJefferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
1.1 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
220 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
307 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Well Inn
The Old Well Inn
#9 of 20 in Barnard Castle
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#12 of 20 in Barnard Castle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Well Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Well Inn

Property: The Red Well Inn
Address: Harmire Road, Barnard Castle DL12 8QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Red Well Hotel Barnard Castle
The Red Well Inn Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing