We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular Island”

Spice Island Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: There is no doubt that most visitors to Spice Island return again and again to sample its outstanding cuisine. Fine food is one of life's most exquisite pleasures - for you to enjoy and savour whenever possible. Such is the philosophy of the Spice Island restaurant, with Head Chef Babul Miah taking great care, pride and satisfaction in creating the finest cuisine.The Menu takes you on a journey across the different regions of Indian Subcontinent to present a superb combination of vibrant dishes. And from the many regional variations of Indian cooking that provide a wide choice of cooking styles, Babul has matched each dish with a style to bring out the distinct flavours and fragrances of the dish to tantalise the senses.Spice Island is situated in the heart of Barnard Castle and was established in 1995. The site was completely transformed in May 2006, the designer interior strikes the right balance between contemporary and informal, overall the effect is tranquil and completely relaxing.Spice Island Manager Zak Ahmed and his staff are passionate about their work. Their knowledge and experience combine to create a unique establishment.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Popular Island”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

First night of a long distance trail and my hiking friend and I found few places to eat in Barnard Castle on a Sunday evening. Not really desiring take away fish and chips after a 20 mile hike, we settled for this nicely presented Indian restaurant. Many others clearly had the same idea as the establishment was really busy. In fairness to the staff, they were really apologetic about the pace of service which was admittedly slow but the quality of the food compensated for the leisurely speed of the evening. We both selected medium strength curries, mine being the lamb jalfrezi and it was very good with generous portions of meat and a delicious sauce. The pickles which accompanied the poppadoms were wonderful too. The restaurant was very nicely presented though those with mobility problems may wish to note that the main dining area is accessed via steps. Considering the limited options on a Sunday night in Barnard Castle, a telephone reservation may be a good call. Would return if in the area again. Very good!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richthehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    54
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stroud
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Accommodating, friendly service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Having an onion intolerance is not the best start to going for a curry. And I usually wind up with a dry tandorri. So I prefer to make a really good one at home.
But no more!
Zak, the manager, was so eager to please. I felt brave and let him make something for me. And it was wonderful.
Portions were enormous. Haven't felt the need to eat since! ;-)
Surroundings and ambience excellent. And some evenings it's so busy you need to book.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank EnglishShandrisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Barnard castle”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good food and good servicegreat lads and goog choice of food cooked fresh you can also take it away wich is abit chepehr

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barrielinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best Indian takeaways I've ever eaten. Brilliant value, staff really helpful and polite. Thanks for first class service.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Indian!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My partner and I visit Eggleston twice yearly from Dublin, Ireland for the last few years, and discovered Spice Island on our first visit (thanks to an ad on Radio Teesdale). We visit on every trip - twice on this one! The food is always excellent, and the staff really pleasant - knowledgeable and helpful in their suggestions. Highly recommend it, and look forward to our next visit, hopefully in December.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_horn_at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Island Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Spice Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing