We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Town”
Review of Bengal Merchant

Bengal Merchant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled in Barnard Castle's beautiful ancient artisan quarter, below the Market Cross is a charming, inviting, comfortable restaurant offering sophisticated, vibrantly flavoured, subcontinental cuisine of real style and taste. The menu features authentic, traditional favourites as well as creative dishes all made with the freshest ingredients. For those with an eye towards light, healthier eating we also offer our famous low calorie (yet authentic Indian) option of all our curries.The Merchant attracts a knowledgeable and loyal clientele who come back time and again for the fine food with exceptional friendly service. The Bengal Merchant is one of Barnard Castle's treasures and a perfect choice for exotic meals with friends & loved ones in a warm, cosy and romantic setting.For those with something to celebrate we also have a separate, newly refurbished function room too.
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

All of the staff are very nice and so welcoming, the music is very traditional and it’s now updated, I had a take out and 3 hours later it was still as warm as when I first received it as well as it tasting incredible, definitely worth every penny here, shout-out to Ak for his humour as well, very pleased to give this a 5 out of 5

Date of visit: September 2018
6  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Great food brilliant staff what’s not to like. Could do with ground floor loo for us old birds after a few gins.

Date of visit: June 2018
4  Thank essexgal2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

First night out when visiting Barnard Castle and were lucky enough to have spotted The Bengal Merchant. Food choice was superb with some unusual dishes. High quality ingredients and very tasty. Staff delightful.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely amazing meal the best hariali I’ve ever had absolutely stuffed as I didn’t want to leave any as it was so good...husband had chicken jalfrezi and once again amazing....staff as usual were fantastic...top Indian restaurant in Barnard Castle x

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank berlianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Unusual menu, with the old standards on but also some delicious house specials. Our waiter and waitress were lovely, attentive but not intrusive and the food was excellent. The peshwari naan was so light and fluffy, and my prawn puree was delicious. The lamb in our biriyani was perfectly tender. Really great curry house, well worth a visit. Good value for money too.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 941BrendanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bengal Merchant also viewed

Barnard Castle, Durham
 
Eggleston, Barnard Castle
 

Been to Bengal Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing