We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Artillery Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homelands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I, my friends and family have stayed here over many years and found homelands to be the Special place for us, the town is only a short distance away, the friendliness, service, great breakfast and the accommodation are very good, this August, the new owners ,Brian and Deborah made our w/end stay very enjoyable many thanks to them for a great stay, a must stay at place when you are in Barnard Castle, book early, every one wants to stay there. If you like a FULL English look at the photo.

Room Tip: the Garden room is very sought after, although all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24322316greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a great place to stay!
Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, wonderful warm welcome, great hosts, home from home, beats all the others hands down.
Lovely dining room with crisp white table cloths, white crockery, excellent breakfast choice, beautifully cooked and presented. Excellent rooms, lovely guest lounge, walking distance of the town, great base for the surrounding tourist attractions. Couldn't really ask for anything more, attention to detail, have already booked to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room which is excellent and very popular, an enjoyable walk through the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We only stayed one night en route home but would happily recommend Homelands to anyone for a long or short stay. Excellent breakfast choice, good location, welcoming hosts. We agree with all the other 5 star reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthumbrianOnTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Warm and accomodating welcome, making room to store our bikes. Glass of sherry on the house certainly helped. Rooms good, but our double a little cramped, but not a lot you can do about a structural issue. New owners who were very good at seeing to what we wanted, providing good advice about the town and where to eat. Excellent breakfast to send us on our way! Good value for money.

Room Tip: The garden room. Separated from the house at the rear, so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliewatson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hosts are very friendly and welcoming, was a pleasure to meet them! The rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean and there was a good selection of breakfast choices. We were only booked in for a night. It was my Mum's birthday the morning we were leaving; a marshmallow teacake with a candle was brought out for her! Very kind and funny! Everyone (party of three) agreed they would definitely stay here again it they were in the area. Lovely people!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for 1 night as a family so used 3 rooms, all of which were clean, comfortable and well equipped. The welcome was warm and we immediately felt happy with our choice of B&B. We were visiting the area for a wedding, and arriving home late in the evening was not a problem. Breakfast was fantastic - lovely variety of freshly prepared fruit and a great choice of cooked options, even happily providing an option not on the menu.
We felt valued as guests here and would highly recommend Homelands as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Beautiful room, friendly couple, lovely breakfast - what more could you want?! I can't rate Homelands highly enough, from the moment I arrived to the moment I checked out, the service was top notch. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barnard Castle hotels
0.8 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 19 in Barnard Castle
516 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 19 in Barnard Castle
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newgate House
Newgate House
#4 of 19 in Barnard Castle
34 reviews
3 mi away
Lily Hill Farm
Lily Hill Farm
#5 of 19 in Barnard Castle
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#17 of 19 in Barnard Castle
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homelands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homelands Guest House

Address: 85 Galgate, Barnard Castle DL12 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range: £82 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homelands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homelands guest house is a beautiful Victorian situated in Barnard Castle, set in the heart of the Teesdale valley. Relax in the luxurious comfort of our elegantly furnished guest lounge, before retiring to your en suite bedroom, beautifully furnished for your comfort. We have colour tv in every room, tea, coffee making facilities. Please note that in our dining room overlooking the garden, you can enjoy our wide choice of breakfast including locally sourced produce, a cold buffet of fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, full English breakfast and vegetarian options. Special dietary requirements can be accommodated if we have prior notice. We are able to offer evening meals if informed prior to arrival as all our meals are cooked to order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Homelands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homelands Guest House Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing