We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homelands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

what a warm and welcoming b and b , super hosts ,great room and lovely food, you must try the evening meals , very homely and freshly prepared. we are definitely going back Les, Rhoda and Jack the Collie Dog

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f222les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Most friendly welcome we have ever had, fantastic hosts and brilliant breakfast much thought has been put into the small details spotlessly clean and comfortable beds , great location on the edge of town, plenty of pubs and restaurants and a lot of quaint little shops what more could you want.

Room Tip: Try the garden room it looks fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basil12123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I were in Barnard Castle for my friend's wedding. We were recommended to Homelands by the groom, and indeed he stayed there the first night also.
We were made very welcome, the accommodation and food were totally top class, and the proprietors could not have done more for us. Thank you, we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteJR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Another visitor for the Pennines sportive - the flexibility of the hosts was in perfect contrast to a few weeks ago when the hotelier laughed when I asked for an earlier breakfast than 830! - the previous reviewers say it all - great people

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Glasgow777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Deborah and Brian are working in the right profession. Each phone call and the visit itself was a pleasure - such helpful, warm people. We visited for the Etape Pennines sportive. Deborah sorted out secure bike storage, got up incredibly early to feed us all breakfast in the dark, allowed us back straggling in through the afternoon for showers, despite having another set of guests arriving. Breakfast was superb. Facilities were good, but most importantly, the welcome was magnificent. These people are grafters, so everything is spotless.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edinburghtraveller_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My friend and I had the pleasure of meeting this wonderful and welcoming couple. Only downfall was the fact we had to leave due to work commitments. This place is definitely a place to go back to. Hopefully that will be soon. The breakfast was superb. I have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world and this is by far a lot better as it's more homely. Well done Brian & Deborah.... Catherine Walker

Room Tip: Book in A.S.A.P. as this is a gem of a place . As far as I am concerned Any room will do as the stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BELLMULLET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A most enjoyable one night stay, We were made most welcome by Brian & Deborah.
Our room at the top end of the garden was super comfortable and well appointed as well as being quiet & cosy
We had an excellent breakfast to send us on our way plus a bag of ripe plums from the garden.
A guest house to be remembered and well recommended.

.

Room Tip: Choose the garden room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessRobCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
1.1 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Strathmore Lawn East
#9 of 20 in Barnard Castle
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newgate House
Newgate House
#6 of 20 in Barnard Castle
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Well Inn
The Old Well Inn
#7 of 20 in Barnard Castle
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homelands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homelands Guest House

Address: 85 Galgate, Barnard Castle DL12 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range: £85 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homelands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homelands guest house is a beautiful Victorian situated in Barnard Castle, set in the heart of the Teesdale valley. Relax in the luxurious comfort of our elegantly furnished guest lounge, before retiring to your en suite bedroom, beautifully furnished for your comfort. We have colour tv in every room, tea, coffee making facilities. Please note that in our dining room overlooking the garden, you can enjoy our wide choice of breakfast including locally sourced produce, a cold buffet of fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, full English breakfast and vegetarian options. Special dietary requirements can be accommodated if we have prior notice. We are able to offer evening meals if informed prior to arrival as all our meals are cooked to order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Homelands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homelands Guest House Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing