We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homelands Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homelands Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfect b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Fantastic place - really can't fault it, and I have very high standards! We were in Barnard Castle for a wedding at the Bowes Museum which is a handy 10 minute walk away.
We stayed in the garden room which was incredibly quiet and comfortable. The garden is beautiful. Breakfast was very, very good with a huge fry up made with quality ingredients, fantastic fruit salad and lots more which I couldn't manage. There was a cafetiere in our room, which is a great touch. Liked the bar with 'honesty box' too, although we didn't have a chance to use it. The decor is not modern, slick and characterless, and not tatty and tired either. Very friendly and welcoming hosts. I wish I had stayed more than one night. Literally can't think of even one tiny complaint.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
141
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was supposed to stay at Bowes but at the last minute discovered that my booked B&B had closed! Enter Brian from Barnard Castle, who not only had a vacancy but offered to pick me up after a hard days walking. He and Deborah could not have been more welcoming. They had even upgraded my room for no extra charge thinking I'd like a bit more luxury after a long day crossing the moors. The quality of the furnishings shines through - comfortable bed, big fluffy towels and curtains that actually keep out the light. The breakfast was delicious and generous - a great variety of fruit, yoghurts and cereals with a brilliant choice for a cooked breakfast. I loved it. The final finishing touch? Brian very kindly drove me back to my start point the next morning. Thank you both!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

...the reviews are correct. A warm welcome (even when guests 'play up') and extremely helpful approach . Lovely bed linen and high standard of cleanliness (and boy is one of us fussy). Great kippers and we appreciated flexibility of the offer of early breakfast - sorry, Deborah and Brian just made you have a few earlier rises! Enough positive comments as we don't really want to advertise Homelands and miss out on staying again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ItscoldhereScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

From the minute we entered Homelands to the time we left we were made welcome, nothing was to much. On arrival we were offered free refreshments and biscuits.
The rooms were immaculate clean and beautifully decorated, has was the rest of the house. Had a wonderful stay and will defiantly be going back there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We originally stumbled across homelands as a one night stop over on our way to Scotland. We loved it so much we returned for our honeymoon. The rooms are impeccably clean and the owners are very friendly. You can tell they genuinely take pride in their business. Had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Booked whole guest house as group of cyclists doing the W2W ride. Having spent all day cycling over the Pennines arrived to be treated by owners putting on unlimited tea and coffee with biscuits!
Stayed in "garden room" wonderfully appointed and quiet! Immaculate throughout the house.
Breakfast was better than in many of the 4* hotels 8 have stayed in with real emphasis on quality produce and all freshly prepared ! Wifi in all the rooms too. Thanks again for making our stay so wonderful!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just got back from a one night stay at Homelands, having attended a wedding at nearby Lartington Hall. Deborah kindly allowed me to drop off our luggage and pick up the room key well before the normal check-in time, and then even volunteered to drop me off at the cashpoint and then drove me to the wedding venue rather than me having to get a taxi back. Homelands is a lovely hotel, the breakfast was fantastic, our double room was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Deborah and Brian are thoughtful hosts who will go out of their way to accommodate their guests. I highly recommend Homelands and will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
1.1 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 20 in Barnard Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Well Inn
The Old Well Inn
#9 of 20 in Barnard Castle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#18 of 20 in Barnard Castle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homelands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homelands Guest House

Property: Homelands Guest House
Address: 85 Galgate, Barnard Castle DL12 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Homelands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homelands guest house is a beautiful Victorian situated in Barnard castle, set in the heart of the Teesdale valley. Relax in the luxurious comfort of our elegantly furnished guest lounge, before retiring to your en suite bedroom, beautifully furnished for your comfort. We have colour tv in every room, tea, coffee making facilities. We are a fully licensed -liquor facility, and dinners can be ordered prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Homelands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homelands Guest House Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing