We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Barnard Castle River Tees, where Raygill wood meets the river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Barnard Castle
River Tees, where Raygill wood meets the river
Family en-suite with 1 double bed & 1 single bed.
Twin room
Original 17th century carved stone staircase
Living Room
Kitchen from Dinning room
Dinning room from Kitchen
Large Garden with Views of open countryside & woodland
Garden BBQ area
Canoeing at Low Force Waterfall
Meg playing in snow 2010
Farm 2010 winter
Eggleston Hall gardens
Livery at Raygill
Raygill wins best of Barnard Castle Meet 2014
Sounds in the grounds annual festival
Weekly local pub bands
Hen parties welcome
Vintage rally WWII, Steam train from Bishop Auckland to Stanhope
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
slick1964
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Slap bang in the middle of a working farm,miles from anywhere,peace,stunning walks right on your doorstep,loads of space ,quirky layout... Fabulous place, loads of potential ,we wish you well for the future Peter .Thank you for looking after us...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: space,location,walks
Liked least: No feature fire place in living room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2012
Thanks for such a good review and really nice to hear you had a great time. There are plenty of good walks which Raygill is ideally placed, including a short 15 minute walk in to the historic Market town of Barnard Castle on the river Tees.
I hope to see you & your group back with us again.

Best wishes & Merry Christmas,

Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel C
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Group stay”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Stayed as a group of 16 Adults & Children last week, We loved it the place is great and the owner can not do enough for you, it is clean and airy with large bedrooms. Kitchen and dining room was more than adequate for our 16 to all eat at the same time.

It is located on a farm, so leave your shoes behind and take your wellies instead, We has Snow while we were there, so the kids loved that.

A 20 minute walk through the woods takes you to Barnard Castle which is very nice

The only downside was a slight parrafin smell from the kitchen boiler, turn it down reduces the smell but overall a wonderfull stay in a clean, comfortable house.

Paul - Tip, replace the kitchen plug, it leaks and change the batteries in the freeview remote

Would we book again- absolutely without doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very rural
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2012
Hi Sara
Thanks for your lovely review and the feedback, I can now say since your stay, the faint boiler smell in the kitchen has gone, the batteries in the remote have been changed although the range is not substantial and has to be pointed directly at the set box & I will purchase a new sink plug.

Thanks Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Dec 2012
Hi Clare
Thanks for your good review and nice to hear you had a lovely time.
Look forward to you staying with us again.

Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Hi Sarah
Thank you for your review and i am really happy your group had such a lovely time. I am always trying to improve things and we have a lot of plans for the future, we look forward to you staying with us again.

Many thanks,

Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thefixtre...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to get together with friends”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 14 of us went away for a 30th birthday for the weekend. We wanted somewhere that wasn't too expensive and that had a few pubs nearby. Raygill was exactly what we wanted. It was great value for money and had plenty of space for everyone, including enough room for us all to sit down for a meal one night. The kitchen was well equipped, and the cottage was near enough to Barnard castle for us to get taxis there and back. Overall we had a fab weekend and I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for something similar.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2012
Thanks James,
It was a pleasure having your group stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,

Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helencalv...
leeds
1 review
“appauling!!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We recently stayed at Raygill and never again will we return. There were 15 members of our familt staying there for a birthday weekend for my mum. A variety of ages ranging from 11 up to 70. On both mornings there was no hot water for the showers for everybody. There were 5 showers in the property but only one could be used at one time. The water was run off a oil boiler which could not cope with the size of the tank. This meant that when the water was running in the kitchen the shower became very cold. There was not a suitable cooker to cook any food in. The cooker that was in the property should have been condemned, it had to be turned on and regulaated by a spanner. The cooker was absolutly disguistingly filthy inside. It had nnot been cleaned for months!!!! salmonella and disease comes to mind. There was no microwave in the kitchen and the Dishwasher had mould growing in it.. We were due to have a barbeque outside in the garden as the owner stated that he had one to rent, for 25 pounds but we had to pay for our gas. The barbeque was full of spiders and cobwebs as it was stationed permamently in the garden. The garden was not pretty just a few slabs with a wall around which had to be acessed over a stone style, not suitable for anybody who has a disability or not too staedy on their feet. The photos of the garden are of the owners garden and does not belong to the property. It has no lighting so it is very unsafe. The smell of the farm is excrusiating, certainly puts you off your food!! Sorry but this property is not worth the money at all. In my opinion it should not be open to rent. It would be classed as a 1 star property. very dissapointing indeed!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: everything-the cleanliness of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2012
The property is budget and your group paid a price which reflected that and I feel you have reviewed it on a basis which is unfair to ourselves. Gail was aware from the start that the walled garden was a private garden and that the cottage comprised of the patio area and a separate lawn in front of the cottage.
A small Charcoal BBQ is advertised and free of charge, I made Gail aware from the start that if she wanted our private gas BBQ there would be a charge. I said I would clean it out and your group said it was fine and you thought the weather was not good enough so you would cook under the grill. I did not say you had to pay for gas, I said if the gas ran out I would refund money for the rent of the BBQ.
I do not advertise the property with a microwave although will purchase one. The grill/oven is cleaned weekly along with the fridge and washing machine, however if you found these unacceptable I can only apologise.
I was made aware of a problem with the water temperature late into your stay and immediately arrived and found the settings to be set to cold in the showers, and that with it being such a large property, you need to run the water through. The lighting outside the property is sensor lit and at the time of year you stayed the nights were quite light until late hours. The wall step will be addressed when we change the main access in 2013 and the property is advertised as not suitable for those with restricted mobility. The property is advertised as a working farm and when you are outside (mainly on the farm side not for guests) you can sometimes smell farm smells, It is a working farm and is advertised as one, so is that a fair criticism from you? The plus side of this is the farm surrounded by hundreds of acres of beautiful Teesdale countryside, woodland & streams perfect for walking, cycling fishing etc. On several occasions I asked your group if everything was ok, can I do anything, any problems etc, but not once did you make me aware of any issues except the showers.
As a new small business trying to improve things and look after you as guests, I would have appreciated you informing me when on the premises or contacting me directly after your stay, rather than waiting months to write a terrible review on Trip Advisor.
I have listened to what you have put in your review, and those things fairly pointed out have been addressed or are planned to be. We also have a programme of works/improvements under way and would hate for this review to impact on the good work we are doing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyHudso...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value; really nice welcoming & friendly service”
Reviewed 22 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were able to book this property with very short notice for a party of 14 - We were originally going on a camping trip but due to the weather conditions decided to have a look at holiday rentals, the price for Raygill was as cheap as camping so we booked with no questions asked!

When we arrived the owner Peter greeted us and showed us around the property.
The kitchen was very large & well equipped for cooking and there was also a large dining area which is not shown in the photos.

The toilets and showering facilities in the property were also brilliant - especially since we had such a large party of people - there wasn't a que for either!

The property is situated on a farm which has beautiful surroundings. There were plenty of local walks and places to get away.

The service offered was also brilliant, the owner was very friendly and welcoming &n was easily contactable if we needed him. He offered a lot of useful advice about the local area -where is nice to eat & walk etc. We were even shown around the farm which was very exciting!

We will definitely be visiting Raygill in the future & we would recommend staying there to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly service & how well equipped the kitchen was
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2012
Thanks Lucy,
We really enjoyed having your group & look forward to you staying with us again.

Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing