We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really good place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Barnard Castle River Tees, where Raygill wood meets the river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Barnard Castle
River Tees, where Raygill wood meets the river
Family en-suite with 1 double bed & 1 single bed.
Twin room
Original 17th century carved stone staircase
Living Room
Kitchen from Dinning room
Dinning room from Kitchen
Large Garden with Views of open countryside & woodland
Garden BBQ area
Canoeing at Low Force Waterfall
Meg playing in snow 2010
Farm 2010 winter
Eggleston Hall gardens
Livery at Raygill
Raygill wins best of Barnard Castle Meet 2014
Sounds in the grounds annual festival
Weekly local pub bands
Hen parties welcome
Vintage rally WWII, Steam train from Bishop Auckland to Stanhope
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
assumpta...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good place to stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 14 of us (8 adults, 1 teenager and 5 children) stayed at the cottage for New Year 2016. We had a brilliant time. There was plenty of space for everyone. The dining room had 2 tables and lots of chairs to allow us to sit together for all our meals. Plus the kitchen had everything we needed for a large group. The kids all adored the dogs owned by the owner and loved when they popped around to the courtyard outside the cottage during our stay. They also loved playing hide and seek in such a large house and really loved the loft room or what we called 'The Nanny McPhee room' upstairs with lots of beds. Will hopefully visit again sometime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you very much, it was lovely meeting your group and look forward to seeing you again

Happy New year,

Peter:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good accomodation for a larger group”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Good value and quality accommodation for a larger group. but they want 100 characters so I will just h

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2016
Thanks Paul, hope to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillybean...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great 50th Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Raygill Farm for the weekend for my friend 50th birthday with 10 friends, we arrived and Peter was there to great us and showed us around explained where everything is and if we needed anything to phone him.
The house is great for partying plenty of rooms we all loved it, we went into Barnard Castle on the saturday taxi was about £10 £15 for a mini bus which works out only couple of pound each, we used Hodgens and Ace had a great day there some great pubs got back to house on the night and carried on partying.
You do get the smell of the farm occasionally but that was not a problem as you are on a working farm.
Would defiantly recommend it for groups for whatever occasion and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thanks so much, you've really brightened my day:)
Lovely guests and thank you so much, hopefully see you back again:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMike199...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Peter communicated very quickly and clearly throughout the booking process and was happy to show us around each room when we arrived- which was very helpful!

The accommodation was perfect for our mixed group of 12 with large outdoor spaces and plenty of socialising room inside (big kitchen and living space)! We are a group who enjoy sport and Peter designated us a field to which we could crack on with football/rugby/rounders throughout the day!

Not far at all from Barnard castle, so easy to pop in for a pub lunch!

Would recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Thanks Mike
Hope to see you back again:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Hi Robbie
Thanks for your review and we are happy you found it was a nice stay and good value for money, we are adding extra things to make more homely and have spent a lot of time and money this year already dramatically improving things with all new doors and windows, some new pieces of furniture, new bathroom suites throughout better garden outside facilities including a custom built large drum BBQ for big groups, a full size league pool table, new double oven, new large fridge freezer, new dishwasher, better dedicated car parking facilities, improved WIFI, part way through complete full redecoration, better signage and welcome information and lots more coming soon......:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maddy T
1 review
“Lovely few days”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Myself and 15 friends stayed at Raygill farm for a few nights and had a wonderful time.
We were lucky enough to have great weather on the first night and sat outside in the garden area with the horses and dogs all around. It is in a great location with a lovely walk to town through the woods. Barnard castle is a beautiful town, and the Three Horseshoes Hotel (a pub recommended by Peter) accommodated for all of us and was fantastic food.
The living room was spacious with a lot of seating for all. The kitchen was slightly basic but had all of the amenities necessary for cooking with plenty of fridge and freezer space.
Overall, a lovely stay and would recommend for a country retreat.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thanks for the great review and hope to see you in the future

Peter:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nellysLiv...
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely stay in this cottage, 5 families wanting a catch up/ weekend break. Kids loved the surrounding farm land & open fields. Cottage had all the facilities needed, owner is also trying to update some facilities. Lovely walks in surrounding area. Very enjoyable weekend, looking to book another weekend stay next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thanks, sorry I did not respond earlier as the app was playing up.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you return

Peter:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing