We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm with good food”
Review of The Old Well Inn

The Old Well Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Warm with good food”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

After a brisk and blowy walk round the town it was good to find the warm and bright sun room at the back of the Old Well. The potato and leek soup was delicious and promptly served after placing our order at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris_passmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    14
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“When they got it right”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Myself and a friend visited the Old Well Inn for an evening meal on the recommendation of other guests staying in our Guest House. We both ordered the steak, which when it arrived was quite cold to taste. We did return them and when the second steak came out it was much more enjoyable. The service of the waitress was good and she was polite. So once they got the steak right the meal was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Few days away”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Went to the Old well inn for a meal with wife and grandson, the menu is a bit limited although there is a few specials on a blackboard, you can eat in the bar or restaurant, we chose restaurant the food although plain was good and hot, soup was hot as was bread, main was same,hot, and veg and potatoes served in separate dish, dessert was excellent, the bill worked out at approx. £ 18 a head including drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheffee9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice pub but food lets it down”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Pub was nice, quite busy and had a nice atmosphere. We sat down and ordered our food me and my husband ordered the steak pie with suet crust with chips and our little boy had chicken nuggets with chips. Food didn't take long to arrive, we asked for no beans on our sons tea and they had put them on his plate, the beans looked like they had been microwaved as they had dried out on the edges. He enjoyed it but it was just frozen chicken nuggets. Our steak pie came with chips and peas, the pie was quite dry and we asked for extra gravy, we had nearly finished our meal by the time the gravy arrived and that looked like it had been took out of the fridge and microwaved as it had dried out and left a ring on the jug. The food was over priced and poor which is a shame as its a nice pub. I wouldn't eat here again and certainly wouldn't recommend it for food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stenamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“nice pub”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Nice pub with a good atmosphere and good beer and wine. The food was very nice but a bit pricey but we enjoyed what we had. We visited with a couple of friends and we would dine in again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jools010990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Well Inn also viewed

Barnard Castle, Durham
Barnard Castle, Durham
 
Barnard Castle, Durham
 

Been to The Old Well Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing