We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pub”
Review of The Old Well Inn

The Old Well Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pub”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

it seemed to be a bit drab and they have no chief for the last three month.The bedding was clean parking was difficult we were in front room a bit noisy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A group of us cyclists (16 of us ) stayed here for one night 9/8/2013. The rooms were amazing, real value for money. If you love old traditional furniture and decor then you won't be let down. They did'nt have any food on in the evening so we had to eat out but there are plenty of places with good prices. The breakfast was big, piping hot and lots of it. The staff were friendly. They stored our bikes in the lock up at the rear of the property.
The conservatorty area was lovely where we all sat. The beer garden was very nice also. I would definately stay hee again as would the rest of our group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie005_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing sunday lunch”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

dog friendly, lovely beer garden, big restraunt, good value with excelent food, highly recomend, helpfull and friendly staff and a good choice of drinks

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely proper pub”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We called in here for a drink on an evening out. There was a good selection of real ales and a welcoming barman. The décor is traditional and well cared for. We sat in the Beer Garden which was attractive and comfortable and there was no intrusive music. They serve food but we had booked elsewhere, but would try them for dinner when back here. Locals were friendly and the loos were nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddlesbroughJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice Selection of Real Ales”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The place to go for the real ale drinker in Barnard Castle, great pint with four or five to choice from. The food look good also and the place is very friendly, very popular with tourists and local alike

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Well Inn also viewed

Barnard Castle, Durham
Barnard Castle, Durham
 
Barnard Castle, Durham
 
Barnard Castle, Durham
 

Been to The Old Well Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing