We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for lunch”

Cross Lanes Organic Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barnard castle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Foods good, tasty, and when the sun was shining a beautiful place to sit in the winter sun. Toilets cold and noisy, not very feminine.Also shop area selling organic meats , spices, veg, handmade crafts ,which we walked around after lunch and tried samples of yummy meringue. Nice time, will go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glenda1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    86
    21
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our top spot on A66”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Living on the West coast of Scotland with relatives in the East of England, we are regular travellers along the A66. Down the years, we have eaten at most of the places en route (& enjoy an occasional detour into Barnard Castle). However, the Cross Lanes cafe is now our firm favourite. Some may find the prices a bit steep - this is not a run-of-the-mill caff but an organic farm selling & cooking its own produce in an attractive, airy space with eco credentials. There is homemade soup, sandwiches & breakfast rolls for those who want something simple. On our last few visits, we have sampled delicious burgers (both the juicy beef & the veggie which was a sort of flat Glamorgan sausage), beautifully spiced beef koftas with flatbread & pizzas. The breads/pizzas were both made in the pizza oven situated in the middle of the cafe. The staff are friendly & service prompt. Best of all, after a long journey, I am now at home cooking tea with veg & meat bought from the shop, enjoying some of the local beer from the well chosen off sales selection. My only complaint - it's too far away!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rufuslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great little organic cafe restaurant with very good ethical shop attached”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stopped here for lunch on our way to the Lake district. Food and service very good, fresh home made bread roll with the soup. The waiter was apologetic for the delay and offered to reduce the price,we refused. The place was busy when we went in, I'd sooner wait than have my food microwaved.
The shop attached stocks all manner of organic, ethical and local produce, gifts and cards. We shall definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onyerbikeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good service.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped for a coffee and some lunch. The service and place are fantastic, the promise of a tasty wood fire cooked Pizza caught my imagination, sadly it was very dry and tasteless. Such a shame as I hoped for something a lot better. I would add the service was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Strange”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This place was recommended to us by friends who travel to the lakes a lot which we were on this occasion.
To be fair I still can't really make up my mind.
Looks like a garden centre from the outside, not somewhere we would ever contemplate stopping at if we had not been recommended.
Bit of a strange smell on entering, not offensive or foul....just strange. Service was very pleasant and burgers were outstanding, absolutely delicious, but no diet coke just organic which tasted like cheap RolaCola from the eighties.
Two burgers two colas £26.00 is a bit pricey but I suppose thats the price to pay for eating healthy, although that RolaCola tasted anything but!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Lanes Organic Farm also viewed

 
Barnard Castle, Durham
Barnard Castle, Durham
 

Been to Cross Lanes Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing