We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fryer Tuck Traditional Fish and Chip Shop
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Highly experienced Fish and Chip shop owners, who live in Barnard Castle - bring top quality Fish and Chips - and Ice Cream - the the High Street of Barnard Castle.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Went with a friend on 1st August. Chips were gorgeous. Lovely friendly service. Very clean and choice of indoor seating our outdoor. Brilliant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FryertuckinBarny, Owner at Fryer Tuck Traditional Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Great and thank you so much for this review.

Kindest regards

Fryer Tuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    9
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A much better experience, the service was very friendly and the quality of the meal was excellent.
The fish was very good and the chips were the best I have tasted not at all greasy and fluffy with slightly crisp outside....not overcooked like a lot of fish & chip shops. The ice cream seller was very friendly but alas no room after the OAP special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cus2mer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FryertuckinBarny, Owner at Fryer Tuck Traditional Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Pleased to see you again - a return visit is a top compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty fish and chips”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great value for money. The owner came and spoke to us and we had some friendly banter. We were able to sit outside and enjoy the meal

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FryertuckinBarny, Owner at Fryer Tuck Traditional Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Great to see you in Fryer Tucks - I look forward to greeting you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best fish and chips in Barnard Castle”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Everytime we go to Barnard Castle we have to have a visit to Fryer tucks cos their fish and chips are the best by far. The staff are always nice and friendly you can have your lunch and an ice cream all under one roof. I would definitely reccommend Fryer Tucks to anyone who asks for best fish and chips in Barnard Castle :-). We will be calling in again the week after next on our next visit to Comedy Club

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FryertuckinBarny, Owner at Fryer Tuck Traditional Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Every time!!! Hope you can make it to Barnard Caslte 4 times a day....every day haha

Great to hear from you

Fryer Tuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LURVLY FISH n CHIPS”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This has got to be the best plaice in the country for quality fish n chips and the best service I've had anywhere, not only fish n chip meal but gorgeous ice cream for pudding.

Thank you one and all,
Love your work

Paul

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Griff139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FryertuckinBarny, Owner at Fryer Tuck Traditional Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Oh what praise from our local radio star :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fryer Tuck Traditional Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

 
Barnard Castle, Durham
 
Barnard Castle, Durham
 

Been to Fryer Tuck Traditional Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing