We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop

Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rural Fish and Chip Shop in Middleton in Teesdale, only 5 minutes drive from the famous "High Force" situated in the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Out door seating and TAKE AWAY Summer opening ( April to end October) Sun: 12 -6pm, Mon closed, Tue/Wed/Thur: 11:30-2pm, 4pm-8pm, Fri: 11:30 - 20:30 Sat: 11:30-2pm, 4pm-8pm
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Popped in on advice of friends, who said it was good, good doesn't even cover it, the service was impeccable, the chips were perfect, but the fish, let's just say I will never want battered cod again unless it's from here, cooked to perfection and the batter was outstanding. Highly recommended 5*

Helpful?
Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Well George, what can I say but a huge thank you for your kind comments. My sister and I were overwhelmed when we read your review, we work hard to provide high quality fish and chips as do the rest of the Middleton in Teesdale Fish shop team. It is a great boost to know we are getting things right. Maybe you will be kind enough to introduce yourself next time you call, which we hope will be very soon.

Best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    27
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Possibly the greatest chip shop ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have visited this chip shop on several occasions and have received excellent service every time. The staff are very friendly and are always happy to chat. The food itself is divine with the homemade pies being by far the most delicious I have ever tasted. 10/10 in all categories and I look forward to my next visit thank you again for a great culinary experience :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deadrunner1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Manager at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Firstly may I say how pleased we are that you are a 'regular'. It never ceases to amaze us how far people travel to enjoy the wonderful scenery that Middleton in Teesdale has to offer and we are glad we don't let the place down with the Fish Chips and Homemade pies we serve.

We have just changed our opening hours for the Winter, so if you are passing this way, please give us a call on 01833 640404or check TA for the opening time.

Look forward to meeting you.

Best regards
David & Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ate here on Sat 12th July and the fish and chips were superb. There is an outside seating area which is great as we had a dog. Food is all fresh and cooked to order, good size portions and lovely staff. The dog loved the fish and chips too! Looking forward to eating there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you for your comments and for writing a review. The staff haven't stopped smiling since. Joking aside, we are very fortunate to have a great time and wonderful customers. Your kind words make everything worth while. I do hope you will call again soon and maybe introduce yourself/ yourselves?

Once gain, thank you for both your customer and your review it is very much appreciated.

Best regards
David and Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cracking Chippy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fish cooked to order in crispy and golden beer batter and the potatoes were peeled and chipped on site - not the bulk bought ready done ones that you usually get. Best we've had for a very long time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Hello

Sorry for taking so long to respond to your review. We really appreciate your comments and yes, you are right, we don't serve the 'bulk bought' food you find in many places. Out potatoes are locally sourced, peeled and chipped freshly on site so they should taste that bit better. Our aim is to serve the best food we possible can and I have to say, it really motivates us when customers such as yourself give great feedback, thank you so much for your kind review.

Maybe you will be travelling up to Middleton from Derbyshire again, if so, we would love to speak with you and provide you with some more fish and chips?

All the best
David, Lydia and the Chip shop team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pies to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Had Steak and kidney pie for lunch today.
Absolutely delicious !!
Their Fish and chips are to die for but these pies come a close second.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sunderland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Steak and Kidney pies are very good, maybe you would fancy trying the Lamb & Potato with fresh mint if you call in again. The lamb is from our own farm and has been raised on the moor, so it has a faint heather flavour and is very succulent (not at all fatty).

We are really pleased you enjoyed the fish and chips and are grateful you took the time and trouble to leave your review. We must apologise for this tardy response, we have had a very busy summer and time slips by so quickly.

We look forward to seeing you before too long. Once again thank you for both your custom and your kind comments.

Best regards
David & Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

 

Been to Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing