We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil and relaxing !”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
billolly
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tranquil and relaxing !”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a lovely 4 night stay at the boot and shoe cottage and we just wish we were able to stay longer. This place is something special. The lovely spacious rooms with lots of littlle " nooks and crannies" was so cosy that we really would've been happy spending all of our time just in front of the the fire and relaxing. As it was though we walked miles over the lovely countryside of the Pennines Way and the River Tees . There is much to explore and we can't wait to go back in the summer and do some of the things we couldn't do on this visit. There is nothing to want for in the cottage,it is so well equipped and the comfort of the double bed and good quality bedding makes this place of a very high standard. It is great to watch the owners chickens roaming around and the all birds that come to the feeder in the garden .To sum it up if you are looking for a restful holiday with lovely walks and superb views then this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliceuk23
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We have stayed in this wonderful cottage two times and hope to return again. It is on the edge of the river Tees and is surrounded by beautiful countryside. The open fire is a real bonus and, although the cottage is very old and full of character, it has all the mod-cons to make staying there a real treat. Thank you very much for being a great host, we have been recommending it to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott U
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our seventh New Year in Boot & Shoe Cottage.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We have recently returned home from celebrating our seventh New Year in Boot & Shoe cottage.
The cottage is situated on the bank of the river Tee in the tiny picturesque village of Wycliffe near Barnard Castle. Downstairs Boot & Shoe offers a comfortable living room with open fire, kitchen diner with log burner and views of the river, utility room with downstairs shower & WC. Upstairs there is a large double bedroom, cosy twin bedroom and bathroom.
Upon arrival you are greeted with a welcome pack usually consisting of homemade baked bread and tarts and in the fridge you will find orange juice, milk, butter & free range eggs laid by the owners own chickens.
The surrounding area is a great place for walkers and all people that enjoy the British countryside, with the Bridge Inn at Whorlton (serving good food) within easy walking distance even for the novices amongst us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas D
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a great time staying at the Boot and Shoe! This cottage would be perfect any time of the year. With large bedrooms, a full kitchen, and a cozy living room, we couldn't have asked for more. The private view of the river is amazing and only a short distance from Barnard Castle. The unit was clean when we arrived. WIFI was available as well. We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views of the river
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
Google Translation

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing