We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Favourite coffee shop!

Lovely tasty home made food here. So good we had to come back the next day for more... read more

Reviewed yesterday
SkippyRumple
Day out with Grandchildren

There is some great things to do with your young family here a muddy kitchen , some old pallets and... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2018
vwpolomk3
,
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 232 reviews
  
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
144
75
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
75
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cake low force car park starting point circular walk local walks log burner menu includes bird feeders pot of tea great place to park delightful walk home made bacon sandwich scones well worth a visit nice coffee
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We visited twice on a recent holiday to Teesdale, with our 2 grandchildren.

Both times the cafe was excellent and good for children. The river proved popular with the children despite the temperature. Plenty more to see
Well worth a visit. You can easily walk to Low Force and the Wynch Bridge.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent scrummy chocolate cake and hot chocolate by the lovely warm wood burning stove. Lovely friendly staff! Will be back soon!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

We called there for tea after a long walk. Very nice staff, good tea shop and interesting place with visual information. Very clean. Car park was good and well signed and lots of things for kids to do including a woodland kitchen which my grandkids would love. I can't help but feel that whoever run s Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty( and this area is outstandingly beautiful ) are so much more imaginative than the longer established National Parks . Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank JulietNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We did the walk to the Low Force and High Force both which where truly amazing and so breathtakingly beautiful. We then ended up at the visitors centre for some essential refreshments. We wanted soup, but that was unfortunately sold out so we had toasted tea cakes instead. WOW WEE they were gorgeous and so very tasty. The young gentleman that served us was very warm and very friendly and a real ambassador to the centre. It was such a real pleasure to be served with impeccable manners and pleasant man. So would we go again? Oh yes, definitely and hope we can get the soup next time.it centre looked impeccably clean and tidy and the cafe prices certainly wouldn’t make a dint in your wallet. Well worth the visit in such a beautiful part of the UK.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank TheOuchPoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Visitor centre worth a visit , staff are very helpful and just amazingly friendly ( take the time to help and will give you a free map ) . We called in today , looking to walk to low force 5hen up t high force on the Pennine way , got lots of advice and shown the route on a map . Such a nice place we went back for coffee and cake ( ginger and pear cake was delightful and my husband tells me the plum and chocolate cake was equally as good ) ... lovel6 little gift shop and an interesting art gallery on the upper floor - charcoal paintings today . If you want a day that gives you peace , beauty and cake then do visit - I don’t think you will regret it ( if you do the walk please wear walking boots it’s a bit stoney and today puddles on route )

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Durhamfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews