We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very special.”
Review of The Old Well Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Well Inn
Ranked #10 of 21 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Bridlington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not very special.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

While I wouldn’t rule out returning to the Old Well Inn, it won’t be my first choice. The building, welcome, breakfast and my room were pleasant enough – but note the following. There was no mobile phone reception (for O2) in the building; the free wi-fi was only accessible in the bar; and the chef left (“last week”), so that the expected restaurant and packed lunches were unavailable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    52
    35
    23
    13
See reviews for
20
92
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Lovely room, nice and clean everywhere, first night away with new boyfriend of 3 month, will deffinately return to this homely little place,, loved the place. Plentyof nice pubs in the area, could have stayed longer if had more time off work, the layout of room and en-suite was fantastic and bed was really comfortable too.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location for visiting places of interest in and around Barnard Castle. Free parking is possible on the road outside. The twin room was big with comfortable beds. Good response was given to a reported problem with the curtains. The bathroom was small and needs updating. The service at breakfast was friendly and efficient, but fruit salad lacked variety.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a wedding nearby. It is located right in the centre of town. The room was very clean and spacious with a big four poster bed, which was incredibly comfortable! The bathroom was also big, with a jacuzzi bath, which was an unexpected, but fab surprise! Breakfast was also very good. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetgo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Had a great time at The Old well, a great dog friendly family pub. Well located near to the Teesdale Way and all the local shops. Always has a great selection of real ales which are well kept. Staff very accommodating in sitting us in the bar at breakfast as the dogs are not allowed in the dining room. All in all very satisfied.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 & 10 are ground floor dog friendly rooms. One with access to the garden the other has ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stopped here as part of C2C cycle, and the pub very kindly let us store the bikes.. Room 7 was very large with lovely 4 poster bed and good bathroom.

Plenty of well kept real ales, and I enjoyed the food both on the evening and for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Me and the wife stayed here for her 40th and we could not fault it at all. The room was spotless and huge with a 4 poster bed and the bathroom was really big with a big deep bath and loads of red hot water.

I asked for a bottle of bubbly and a red rose to be in the room when we arrived which the landlord made sure it was, in fact nothing was to much trouble we were 20 mins late for lunch and they still served us.

The room was really old world everything was wonky but just what you are going to get from a building that is probably a couple of hundred years old to sum it up Full of character. The breakfast was lovely help yourself to fresh fruit or cereal and yoghurt then a full English that was cooked perfect not dripping with fat like most places the sausages were grilled and the poached egg was perfect and as much toast as you like.

All in all we couldn't have asked for anything better as for the price of £75 to stay somewhere like this you have got a real bargain. We will definitely be going back!!

Thanks Old Well Inn for a perfect weekend.

Nearly forgot we asked to check in at 12 and leave at 12 the next day and yet again this was not a problem.

Room Tip: Room 7 was the 4 poster room and it was on the front street without double glazing but we were in be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
1.3 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
222 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#12 of 21 in Barnard Castle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 21 in Barnard Castle
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 21 in Barnard Castle
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newgate House
Newgate House
#8 of 21 in Barnard Castle
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Well Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Well Inn

Property: The Old Well Inn
Address: 21 The Bank | Barnard Castle, Barnard Castle DL12 8PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Well Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Well Inn is a historic coaching inn that has the castle walls running along the beer garden. We have 10 ensuite character rooms , that can accommodate families, as well as individual travellers. Hotel guests enjoy a delicious breakfast. Our kitchen is open to the public from noon till 8.30pm, serving a variety of meals. We have soups and sandwiches , salads and chips and steaks and pies and even curries and pasta. The lovely conservatory has a coffee bar and dessert counter with a delectable and ever changing variety of desserts. The pub is famous for it's real cask ales. You will almost always get a new range. Our staff are warm , friendly , welcoming and ever ready to assist you as best they can. Welcome to the Old Well Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Well Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Well Hotel Barnard Castle
Old Well Inn
The Old Well Inn Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing