We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect holiday cottage, in the most beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

helen-m-h...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday cottage, in the most beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from a week at Swallow's Nest Cottage. It is ideally situated for exploration of the glorious Northern Pennine countryside.
The cottage is very well appointed and comfortable and pleasantly roomy. Alison and Keith are most welcoming hosts.
We visited Auckland Castle, the Bowes Museum, Killhope Lead mine, Barnard Castle and Stanhope, Eggestone Gardens and High Force and a long walk through Hamsterley Forest. A truly memorable holiday.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. Keith and I are delighted that you had such a lovely time here and that your holiday in Swallow's Nest was such a memorable one. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon. Alison.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy A
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything promised and so much more..”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had such an amazing stay, not only was the cottage perfect for myself and my little girl, but it enabled us to holiday with my Grandparents. I have been looking for a cottage like this for ever, my Grandfather has mobility issues due to Parkinson's, so this offered a comfortable and safe place to holiday.
It is beautiful, as is everything around, with plenty to do. My daughter and I had some lovely walks, we recommend a trip to the waterfalls. However you do not need to travel, with the lovely little garden you can sit and enjoy.
To top it off there are the lovely owner, who treat you like friends not guest's and make your stay so special.
We are going to regular guest from now on.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too much to list, but the shower chair was a huge plus for my Grandad.
Liked least: Washing up, but only because I had to do double what I would normally!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Keith and I are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay here. The facilities for our guests with disabilities have taken some years to get together and are in response to suggestions from our guests so it is even more pleasing to us that you have also found them useful. We are looking forward to seeing you next August and to some more Lego creations!! ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had an excellent holiday at Swallows Nest, it is well equipped and spacious offering a homely environment to spend your time away. We were made to feel very welcome by Alison and Keith. Our son particularly enjoyed being able to feed the chickens and collect eggs and also to see the animals especially the newborn lambs. We had such a lovely time we are looking to book again for next year!

Date of stay: April 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are really pleased you had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed having you here and showing you around our farm. We are looking forward to your return visit too. Thanks again, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a much needed break here and Alison was so welcoming it made it hard to leave. Perfect for my Mum - the wet room made things so easy. Dad enjoyed chatting about 'chickens' with Alison and eating fresh eggs for his breakfast. Comfortable home from home for Mum and Dad. We would love to come and stay again.

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you and your mum and dad had a super time here on the farm and that you would love to come again. I thoroughly enjoyed chatting to your dad about the chickens and also glad that your mum found the facilities useful. I am looking forward to seeing you all again in the future and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedog4...
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

On arrival were immediately at ease when meeting Alison the owner of this beautiful cottage. The farm and the area are stunning not to mention the nearby shopping choices in both Bishop Auckland and Barnard Castle. There are great takeaways and supermarkets within driving distance which are all outlined in the great guide provided. Everything is there for your every requirement I as a wheelchair user found things taken into consideration which is rare in holiday lets especially those allowing dogs as well.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and friendly place.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Swallows Nest Cottage. We do try very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a super stay (even our 4 legged ones!). I am glad that you found the information on the cottage and local services useful as we feel it's an important part of any stay. We are all very much looking forward to your next visit-Thanks again, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaurG2014
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from Swallows Nest myself my sister Susan and my dad, John and his dog McEwan and want a brilliant time we all had. My dad has a mobility scooter to be honest
we had a exhaustive list of requirements which we discussed with the owner Alison before booking, but nothing was a problem Alison couldn't have been more helpful all the equipment
and the personal touches made the holiday perfect. An ideal tranquil place, and privacy but Alison was on hand and did check if we needed anything.A must for anyone who has disabilities, master bedroom on one level, walk-in shower and an en-suite with a bath in the twin-bedded room, We would not hesitate to make a further booking, My dad wanted to stay on another week but with commitments we couldn't but we have recharged our batteries and
Have proved whatever your disabilities you can still live life to the full. Thank you to Alison and Keith for helping make this possible.
Love Maureen, Susan and John xx

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I'm glad I was able to put your mind at rest before you came here so that you could start looking forward to your holiday. Nothing is ever too much trouble to help aid that process and I understand perfectly. Now that you know we're here and what we offer you can look forward even more to your next stay and we will be delighted to see you all back on the farm in the future. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themouseh...
Kyogle
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 4 stayed at Low Lands Farm for a far too short 5 days in May. From the moment we arrived we were made welcome by Alison and Sally and this set the tone for the rest of our stay. The cottage is so cosy and well equipped with everything you could want. The lego is an inspired touch and bought the adults some sleep-in time in the mornings! Not that you want to sleep in when there are eggs to collect, lambs to feed, horses to fuss over and Glen the sheep dog ever ready for a game of football. The cottage is exactly as it is described and it was nice to find a farm stay that delivered on its promise of being a working farm. There is plenty to see and do in the area - if you can drag the kids away. The extra touches like the binoculars, blankets and books set this place apart. If we are lucky enough to return to the UK we would love to visit again.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review of Swallows Nest. We try very hard to make each guest's stay here on the farm as personal and individual as we can and we are thrilled to know that we have achieved this. We agree that your stay here was too short this time as we too would have liked more time to get to know you all better, maybe next time? Thank you once again and good luck to you and your lovely family in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.