We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
The story of Swallows Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The story of Swallows Nest
A trio of hens catching the sun. Free range eggs are plenty during spring and summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The story of Swallows Nest
A trio of hens catching the sun. Free range eggs are plenty during spring and summer
Dedicated parking right outside your door,
Warm and cosy, the log burner in Swallows Nest is just the thing.
Cosy ambiance
Two of our gorgeous horses. Come and give them a lovely groom
Farm machinery at its very best. Boys and their toys eh?
Our farm is a full working livestock business where we believe in happy animals
You simply cannot beat our glorious Teesdale countryside. This is of our own farmland.
Horses grazing happily in our fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nadine F
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had the most amazing stay with Alison and her family. The cottage is so comfy and warm, the animals are an added bonus, the chickens were wonderful, feeding them was a great experience. Sally and Maggie the Jack Russell's made us feel very welcome on arrival and even Glen the farm dog came to say hello. The facilities were perfect for my mum and I would highly recommend a stay. Cannot wait to come back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are really glad that you all enjoyed your stay in our cottage and especially that your mum was able to reminisce and have a little walk down memory lane. Like you , we look forward to your return visit. Thanks again and see you in 2016!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandgroun...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SWALLOWS NEST IS A FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY - FRIENDLY HOSTS!”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From our initial enquiry, through speaking to the owner, Alison, she answered our every question and query without hesitation. Needless to say we decided to book Swallows Nest for a week’s break, and what a lovely cottage it is, pictures are so deceiving, really spacious, cosy, and simply a home-from-home. On arrival we were greeted by Alison, who showed us round the cottage, and made us feel very welcome. The cottage was lovely, and of course Alison’s dogs Sally (mum dog), and Maggie (Puppy), who greeted us as well and Glen the sheepdog was lovely too. Outlook stunning, nice to see all the Free Range Hens, loads of wild rabbits and horses in the fields. We enjoyed the cottage and exploring the area so much that we have booked to return next year, not just once, but twice. I would advise if you are thinking of going, book early as this is such a gem, no wonder it gets booked for the year ahead very quickly indeed. Alison was on hand to give advice for days out to suit all needs and there is plenty of literature and leaflets in the cottage for days out. Finally, thanks to Alison and Keith (and dogs) for a great stay, we will see you next year. Sorry for the late review, and we have added a few photos of our stay. Craig & Linda.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location & Greeting From Alison
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Thank you so very much for your positive review of Swallows' Nest. We are glad that you both had such a fabulous time that you have decided to book not one but two weeks with us next year. We look forward to seeing you both and welcoming you once again to our lovely farm. Sally and Maggie say hi too and thank you for their gifts. The toy is miraculously still in one piece!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen-m-h...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday cottage, in the most beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from a week at Swallow's Nest Cottage. It is ideally situated for exploration of the glorious Northern Pennine countryside.
The cottage is very well appointed and comfortable and pleasantly roomy. Alison and Keith are most welcoming hosts.
We visited Auckland Castle, the Bowes Museum, Killhope Lead mine, Barnard Castle and Stanhope, Eggestone Gardens and High Force and a long walk through Hamsterley Forest. A truly memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. Keith and I are delighted that you had such a lovely time here and that your holiday in Swallow's Nest was such a memorable one. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon. Alison.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy A
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything promised and so much more..”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had such an amazing stay, not only was the cottage perfect for myself and my little girl, but it enabled us to holiday with my Grandparents. I have been looking for a cottage like this for ever, my Grandfather has mobility issues due to Parkinson's, so this offered a comfortable and safe place to holiday.
It is beautiful, as is everything around, with plenty to do. My daughter and I had some lovely walks, we recommend a trip to the waterfalls. However you do not need to travel, with the lovely little garden you can sit and enjoy.
To top it off there are the lovely owner, who treat you like friends not guest's and make your stay so special.
We are going to regular guest from now on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too much to list, but the shower chair was a huge plus for my Grandad.
Liked least: Washing up, but only because I had to do double what I would normally!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Keith and I are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay here. The facilities for our guests with disabilities have taken some years to get together and are in response to suggestions from our guests so it is even more pleasing to us that you have also found them useful. We are looking forward to seeing you next August and to some more Lego creations!! ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had an excellent holiday at Swallows Nest, it is well equipped and spacious offering a homely environment to spend your time away. We were made to feel very welcome by Alison and Keith. Our son particularly enjoyed being able to feed the chickens and collect eggs and also to see the animals especially the newborn lambs. We had such a lovely time we are looking to book again for next year!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are really pleased you had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed having you here and showing you around our farm. We are looking forward to your return visit too. Thanks again, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a much needed break here and Alison was so welcoming it made it hard to leave. Perfect for my Mum - the wet room made things so easy. Dad enjoyed chatting about 'chickens' with Alison and eating fresh eggs for his breakfast. Comfortable home from home for Mum and Dad. We would love to come and stay again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you and your mum and dad had a super time here on the farm and that you would love to come again. I thoroughly enjoyed chatting to your dad about the chickens and also glad that your mum found the facilities useful. I am looking forward to seeing you all again in the future and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedog4...
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

On arrival were immediately at ease when meeting Alison the owner of this beautiful cottage. The farm and the area are stunning not to mention the nearby shopping choices in both Bishop Auckland and Barnard Castle. There are great takeaways and supermarkets within driving distance which are all outlined in the great guide provided. Everything is there for your every requirement I as a wheelchair user found things taken into consideration which is rare in holiday lets especially those allowing dogs as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and friendly place.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Swallows Nest Cottage. We do try very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a super stay (even our 4 legged ones!). I am glad that you found the information on the cottage and local services useful as we feel it's an important part of any stay. We are all very much looking forward to your next visit-Thanks again, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing