We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable and relaxing.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Plainduni...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and relaxing.”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Great place to just chill out, everything you need to relax and have a proper rest. Off the beaten track but ideal location for getting out and about; we have Durham Cathedral, Newcastle river front and Hamsterley Forest penciled in for our next visit and I never miss a chance to poke around Barnard Castle.

My husband was ill while we were there and Alison and Keith could not have been more helpful. As a result we spent most of our break in the cottage and found we had everything we needed to cook and be comfortable. It was fun watching the chickens, pheasants, rabbits and birds while the powder snow came down and the log burner glowed- magic.

I have already recommended Swallows Nest to my sister and several friends and will be back later in the summer.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for you wonderful review of Swallows Nest. You are right, although we are tucked quietly away in rural Teesdale, we have an absolute plethora of wonderful things to do and see right on our doorstep. I think we sometimes forget how much there actually is! What a horrid time for your husband to be ill and I can only be thankful that we are on the farm so that we could support you. We are so pleased that he's on the mend. We are really looking forward to your next visit when you will be able to see more of the area. Many thanks again, Alison.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect holiday retreat”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our third visit, with our 4 for next year already booked.
The cottage is equipped with all essential items as well as those none essential but useful things, The slow cooker is a godsend for days spent walking, returning to a lovely cooked meal without the effort of cooking.
Alison listens to the feedback from her visitors and acts on any critique. The purchase of a slow cooker being one of them,
A couple of places to visit: Tunstall Reservoir a lovely place to walk round as well as Hamsterley Forest, (great for kids too)

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your glowing review. In response, I would like to say that we do try our very best to equip the cottage with the little things that might just make the difference between a good holiday and a special one. We're delighted that you have booked your 4th visit here and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks again for taking the time to write your lovely review it means suh a lot to us, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazimag
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One word - WOW!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've sadly just left Swallows nest cottage.
What a find!!!
I booked this online and Alison contacted me straight away, her emails were friendly and informative and all questions were answered immediately.
On arrival the cottage was warm and inviting, Alison arrived and showed us where everything was and how everything worked and she's right next door if you need her. The cottage is lovely, well adapted for people who have less mobility, spotlessly clean, well appointed and very comfortable, my hubby wanted to bring the recliner chair home with him. Alison provides lots of extras in the way of toiletries and the cupboards in the kitchen are packed full of little surprises, all you really need to bring is milk, bread and food. There's even an information pack provided with where the nearest supermarket etc is located.
Nothing is too much trouble for this lovely lady.
We'd like to keep Swallows Nest as our little secret, but that really wouldn't be fair on others and we've already given out Alison's card to our parents!
Will we be back? Hell, Yeah!!
Will we be recommending Alison and her lovely cottage? Definitely, in fact we already have.
Thanks for everything Alison, you really do go above and beyond, your reviews are well deserved and 100% accurate, you are an absolute angel xxx

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
WOW!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are truly grateful for your comments and to you for taking the time to write such positive thoughts about us, our lovely cottage and the area where we live. We enjoy everything we do and gain immense satisfaction from knowing that our guests have had a fabulous time here. We are looking forward to your return visit and to hopefully welcoming your family and friends too. Many, many thanks, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W
Wingerworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Feels like coming home”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have returned to Swallows nest many times over a ten year period and each time it feels like we have come home.

The property is a single story stone barn conversion, which has been lovingly and sympathetically transformed. It sits on a working farm owned and ran by warm and wonderful hosts Alison and Keith. It is in a rural location with good routes to nearby towns and cities.

Within the property there are all the comforts you would expect at home. Both bedrooms are en suite and, within them, all toiletries are provided. Just in case you forget something, Alison has it covered! There is a log burner to warm and entertain you on those cold winter nights, this is a big hit with the children and big children!

There is plenty to see and do, places to explore and walks to take. You are spoiled for choice but if you need any advice about the local beauty spots Alison and Keith have plenty of suggestions.

Pets are welcomed too, so no worrying about the pooch whilst you are away!

I can't praise this hidden gem enough and we can't wait to return later in the year. You will arrive as a guest and leave as a friend!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Oh how wonderful, what a lovely, lovely review. Thank you so much and I can only agree in that many of our guests have become dear friends over the years. We feel blessed that we are chosen for people to spend their valuable holiday time here. We look forward to your return visit very much, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine F
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another visit”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Happy to be back again to this lovely place. Alison is a wonderful host, everything you could need is at hand. The animals are all so friendly and accessible. Cottage is excellent for the less able in your party. We definitely feel rested and relaxed

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review Nadine and your super comments. It means such a lot to us that our guests have the best time possible during their stay here in Swallows' Nest and I'm glad that you had a restful and relaxing stay. We are looking forward to seeing you in the future-Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandgroun...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT COTTAGE, LOVELY LOCATION SECOND TIME BACK”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We first stayed at Swallows Nest in 2015, loved it instantly and so decided to book again. The cottage itself is to a very high standard and is suitable for those with disabilty/mobility problems and also of course able bodied (as we were). Everything on one level, nice and spacious cosy as well for those chilly nights. I don;t think we have stayed in a self catering accommodation, where there are so many utensils, crockery, towels, toileteries, in fact everything you need, just bring yourself and some food, you've got it made. Location is perfect and there is plenty to do within half hour/under an hours drive away. We managed to get to Beamish Museum (again went last year), Killhope lead Mine, Hammsterley Forest, were you take a nice picnic, loads of trails for the kids and play areas etc. and Hardwick Park, NRM Shildon. We even managed a visit to the Royal Navy Museum at Hartlepool, great days out. Thanks once again to Alison and Keith, great hosts, nothing too much trouble. We have already booked for one and maybe two weeks in 2017!. PS Dogs Sally and Maggie and sheepdogs are lovely too, see you next year take car C&L

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review.How lovely that you took the time to write it. It really does make the extra thought we put into the cottage worthwhile when we know that we have made a difference to our guests' stay. We are very much looking forward to your return visit next year. Many thanks again, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne602
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely little cottage. Very friendly and welcoming.”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, daughter (13) and son (8) stayed for a couple of days at Swallows Nest just for a quiet break away. We enjoyed it so much we are definitely going back. Alison and Keith are so friendly and Keith even let the kids go on the quad and drive the tractor! There are lovely walks just on the doorstep so our dog was in her element, but the surrounding area is also beautiful, I never knew there was so much to do in that part of the country!
Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: January 2016
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review of Swallows Nest. We were glad that we were on hand to be able to spend some time with you and your lovely family. A short visit for you but we are already looking forward to a time when we can welcome you once again, hopefully for a little longer next time. Many thanks again for taking the time to review our lovely cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.