We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“as good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnard Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #6 of 20 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“as good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

whenever we caravan in barnard castle as we have done for a number of years we always make a point of eating here. this year we went 3 times sun. lunch, a lunch time snack & an evening meal & all were excellant the warm bacon & wensleydale starter was superb. all the meals we both had were well cooked & well presented by the very friendly staff who work there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    24
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Had a lovely lunch here. Steak, black pudding and ale pie was beautifully cooked and delicious. The chicken with cotherstone cheese and leeks was moist and juicy. My salad of prawns, cooked beef and cotherstone cheese was simple but worked well being both fresh and tasty. Uncomplicated and unpretentious food with good service. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just stayed two nights at the Fox and Hounds and the service, food and beer were all excellent. A very enjoyable weekend and a great base to see the local area.The breakfasts were particularly noteworthy. Highly recommended. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were walking from Romaldkirk to Cotherstone and back and decided to try the Fox and Hounds for lunch before heading back along the railway line. What a surprise!. Had the chicken with Cotherstone cheese and leek sauce. Realy well prepared. The vegetables were faultless and the ckicken moist and succulent. Good wine list, excellent beers and a friendly welcome. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Went to the fox and hounds for our tea what can I say it was excllent value for money and a very pint of larger becks and the staff are very friendly can't wait to return lovely old pub would recommend booking it got very busy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consett87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Lovely local pub in Cotherstone. Friendly proprietor and staff. Well priced and substantial meals. Best of all, very tasty. We ate there twice during our week's holiday in the area. Seemed very child friendly (toys available) and catered for my fussy eater who wanted cooked pasta with nothing else and my 2 younger sons thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welsh Girl in Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Welcoming traditional pub with a roaring fire. Popular with the locals so is obviously a good pub to choose. Meals were tasty and plentiful. Will definitely return when in the area. They also offer a take away service.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ani-sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
1.8 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#16 of 20 in Barnard Castle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 20 in Barnard Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Well Inn
The Old Well Inn
#9 of 20 in Barnard Castle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds

Property: The Fox and Hounds
Address: Cotherstone, Barnard Castle DL12 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Barnard Castle
The Fox And Hounds Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing